Revit MEP Wishes

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-16-2007
Message 1 of 8 (542 Views)

Unselectable links

542 Views, 7 Replies
06-01-2007 06:06 AM
It would be great if there was a way to make linked model unselectable. It seems like I am constantly accidentally grabbing the arch. model while trying to grab something else. Pinning the linked model only prevents it from being moved, I want it to be unselectable. Does anyone else find this frustrating?

We never need to touch the arch. model itself, so it seems like it would make sense to have a choice somewhere that would make it unselectable.
Active Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎12-10-2007
Message 2 of 8 (542 Views)

Re: Unselectable links

04-14-2008 03:49 PM in reply to: revitman
I completely agree It is very frustrating trying to select only the discipline that I am working on and having to wait for Revit to select the entire model and then waiting to deselect it before I can continue.
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
Message 3 of 8 (542 Views)

Re: Unselectable links

04-28-2008 02:29 PM in reply to: revitman
I can give you some examples when you need to touch the arch. model, when you need to copy a wall, a ceiling as your place holders for wall/ceiling based elements you need to place (is the way you need to do in 2008 don't know in 2009)
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
Message 4 of 8 (542 Views)

Re: Unselectable links

10-01-2008 06:59 PM in reply to: revitman
There are couple ways to accomplish this.

1. You can log in as a "User X" create a workset Links and put the linked files on it. Save to Central without Relinquishing. Go back and log in with your normal login. You will still be able to select the links but not modify them.
2. Create Design Option and put the link in it. You will not be able to even select the file.

Regards,
Paul Hristov
Ideate,Inc
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 523
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 5 of 8 (542 Views)

Re: Unselectable links

10-03-2008 01:05 PM in reply to: revitman
I totally agree. What a waste of time. Unselectable links is the only way to go. make it a choice though. You can uncheck or check the option.
"It's hardware that makes a machine fast. It's software that makes a fast machine slow."

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-30-2009
Message 6 of 8 (542 Views)

Re: Unselectable links

04-30-2009 10:46 AM in reply to: revitman
So this isn't currently an option? Rats, I was hoping I just hadn't found it yet. They really, really need to make links lockable, as they are in AutoCAD (yes, I realize they don't want Revit to be like AutoCAD). Sometimes it seems like I spend half my day is spent waiting for the Arch plan to move, then cancel so it moves back. Very, very irritating.
New Member
aaron
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2012
Message 7 of 8 (352 Views)

Re: Unselectable links

01-30-2013 04:13 PM in reply to: revitman

LKJones you missed the solution further up the list of replies. PHristov second option works perfectly and will solve your problem revitman. Create a design option and add any links you don't want to be able to select to the option. Switch back to the main model design option and the links will now be totally unselectable. Thanks very much PHristov, that solves a problem I have been struggling with for a while now.

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-12-2013
Message 8 of 8 (248 Views)

Re: Unselectable links

04-26-2013 04:12 PM in reply to: PHristov

We use option #2 and have used it for a long time, it works great.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community