Revit MEP Wishes

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
thewrz
Posts: 167
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 1 of 3 (492 Views)

Room Calculation Point - So Close Autodesk. So close.

492 Views, 2 Replies
08-01-2012 06:51 PM

Room Calculation Point is a FANTASTIC addition to Revit MEP!.

 

First off. Thank you. This solves many a problem of light fixtures and air terminals not being included in my schedules when I filter by Zone or Space, since anything ABOVE the space was not included.

 

But you missed two family categories:

Mechanical Equipment

Electrical Equipment

 

Why, you may ask?

 

All of our VAV boxes are always above the ceiling. So when we're trying to schedule out our mechanical equipment... the Space parameter never works because it's physically above the Space.

 

Capture.JPG

 

Even when adjusting the Space offset to be ABOVE the ceiling. It has no effect.

 

Additionally. It is not uncommon to place various panels above the ceiling. Or even small data racks for above-ceiling IDFs.

 

If you could add the lovely and amazing Room Calculation Point to more than just Air Terminals and Light Fixtures the world would be a better place.

 

____________________________________________________
Please give kudos to the MEP Wish List ideas you like, as this will help the Revit development team prioritize functionality additions!
Valued Contributor wim
Valued Contributor
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-05-2004
Message 2 of 3 (424 Views)

Re: Room Calculation Point - So Close Autodesk. So close.

11-05-2012 02:19 PM in reply to: thewrz
+1 on this. Instead of always limiting such kind of features to a specific subset, please keep in mind that it is better to make it available for all categories and let the user decide.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-04-2013
Message 3 of 3 (293 Views)

Re: Room Calculation Point - So Close Autodesk. So close.

02-04-2013 02:37 PM in reply to: thewrz

If you turn off room bounding for the architectural celings. Then, take your spaces up to the slabe above. It will show your VAV boxes in the space. We do it all the time. Of course, you won't have plenums if you have been using that feature.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community