Revit MEP Wishes

Reply
Mentor
embolisim
Posts: 355
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 1 of 9 (691 Views)

Connectors on nested families

691 Views, 8 Replies
05-09-2011 06:19 PM

This has been a problem for a long time, but doesn't get much airing on here.

Can connectors still be available please when they are on a nested family.

 

The specific example I came across today is Air Handling Units. Generally they are modular design and you order the combination & configuration (horizontal, vertical, L shaped...) of modules that meets your application. So I want to model each module separately, then nest the modules into an AHU family on a project by project basis.

Then I'll be able to scheule it by unit & also schedule the modules.

 

I can't put connectors on the modules though, so theres little point.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,175
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 9 (640 Views)

Re: Connectors on nested families

01-24-2012 08:00 AM in reply to: embolisim

I would like to reiterate this statement. This limitation has caused us a bit of grief and has basically nullified many schemes and methods of organization and efficiency, such as embolism's previous situation. As an example speculation method:

 

Our projects, like most others, often contain many different lighting fixtures (model, lamps, ballasts, etc.). We have had to reconfigure the entire scheme several times (i.e. change all 32WT8 lamps to 28WT8, or change the Ballast Factor, etc.). Our idea was to create an embedded shared family for the ballasts. That way, the voltage, load, etc. can be changed on a global level via a ballast schedule. We would be doing this, could one connect to a nested connector.

 

As an alternate to forcing Revit to search all nested families for all connectors, there could be a "Bridge Connector" command in the Family Creator that effectively acts as a Copy/Monitor for a nested family's connector. You would activate the command and then select the desired connector by selecting the nested family and choosing one from there. It will then create a connector in the exact location as the chosen one, which will read the embedded data only.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
thewrz
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 3 of 9 (623 Views)

Re: Connectors on nested families

02-16-2012 07:32 AM in reply to: embolisim

This would solve a lot of my problems. Track lighting. With nested fixture heads that had connectors.

 

I could then make the track itself a "panel" and then connect the track back to the main panel/controller.

____________________________________________________
Please give kudos to the MEP Wish List ideas you like, as this will help the Revit development team prioritize functionality additions!
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,175
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 9 (597 Views)

Re: Connectors on nested families

04-10-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: embolisim

I have developed a limited method of transferring data from a Nested Shared Family to a Host Family's Connector, and I'm posting it here for the remote chance that it may be useful to someone, somewhere...

 

In the Nested Shared Family, create Length Parameters that correspond to each Parameter that drives the Connector along with a logical formula to convert it to a Length. These Parameters must be Instance Parameters. For example, for a "Voltage" parameter of an electrical family, create a Length Parameter named "VoltageL" and apply the formula: = (Voltage / 1V) * 1/64".

Create a Symbolic Line, assign it to <Invisible Lines>, and tie its length to the new Length Parameter. When placing a linear dimension, you can choose the endpoint of the line via the Tab key.

 

In the host Family, recreate this dimension base upon that same Symbolic Line embedded within the Nested Family and tie it to an identically named Parameter. This parameter will change based upon the value within the Nested Family. Create a Formula to translate the data back into the proper units. For example: For a "Voltage" Parameter, the formula would be: = (VoltageL / 1/64") * 1V.

The Families Connector can now be driven by this Parameter, and in essence, by the Nested Family.

 

This is limited, but it does enable the creation of a few intelligent, modular families. Attached is an example of a electrical family, which is not a real device. (RMEP 2012)

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 5 of 9 (573 Views)

Re: Connectors on nested families

04-14-2012 10:29 AM in reply to: embolisim

Another way of doing what your post says is to skip the nested families entirely and just create an assembly.  I am assuming that is what that feature is for.  You can assemble the AHU from the different modules you created seperately and do whatever you want with it.  You can connect ducts and pipes to the modules prior to creating the assembly.  You can schedule the modules separately and if you want an AHU schedule, just create something for it, add it into the assembly, and schedule as you would any other module.  You can schedule assemblies as well and put in shared or project parameters into them. 

New Member
ncrane
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 6 of 9 (527 Views)

Re: Connectors on nested families

07-18-2012 04:06 AM in reply to: Sandleaz

It would also be good if you could connect across a linked model !!

Valued Contributor
Sandleaz
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 7 of 9 (524 Views)

Re: Connectors on nested families

07-18-2012 04:43 AM in reply to: ncrane

It would also be good if you could connect across a linked model !!

 

All good except if the family changes or is moved around in such a way that whatever you're connecting to the linked file becomes "invalid" and REVIT decides to do strange things to your connected items or deleting them altogether.   

 

Here's an example ("X" = family in linked file and "-" "|" is piping, valves, etc in your file... connected to "X" in another file)

 

                                  -----------------------------

                                  |

XXXXXX                     |

XXXXXX-----------------|

XXXXXX

 

then someone moves the family "X" over in the linked file...

 

                                  -----------------------------

                                   |

                   XXXXXX  |

                   XXXXXX  |

                   XXXXXX

 

... so what happens to your piping?

 

It's easy when there's one user controlling both files (user disconnects piping from "X" before moving) but requires a bit more coordination if there are multiple users.

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
thewrz
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 8 of 9 (492 Views)

Re: Connectors on nested families

08-25-2012 03:10 PM in reply to: Sandleaz

This really wouldn't effect Electrical Connectors fortunately. But you're right. That would mess up piping/ductowrk between models.

____________________________________________________
Please give kudos to the MEP Wish List ideas you like, as this will help the Revit development team prioritize functionality additions!
Valued Contributor wim
Valued Contributor
wim
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-05-2004
Message 9 of 9 (416 Views)

Re: Connectors on nested families

11-05-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: embolisim
could be an interesting feature

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community