Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
rlabib
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
Message 1 of 9 (1,174 Views)
Accepted Solution

what is the project base point ?

1174 Views, 8 Replies
01-24-2013 07:18 AM

I'm in the process of creating a new template and I found this post which is very helpful

 

http://www.revitforum.org/tutorials-tips-tricks/1004-building-revit-template.html

 

 

 

 

number 2 in the post it says the following

 

"2. In the template, Find the origin. It may seem silly now, but when you realize it isn’t where you thought later, you’ll me bad. In the old days it meant imported a CLEAN .dwg with nothing but an X drawn at 0,0,0 Origin to Origin, marking that spot with reference planes, and pinning it. Now, you can turn on the Project Base Point / Survey point, and mark THAT with reference planes. My advice? Name them Origin N/S and Origin E/W, pin them, and call it a day. THEN, open your first blank TITLEBLOCK, and do the CAD trick, import the dwg OTO, and mark that with reference planes. Pin. Save as “1st titleblock” and close. (It WILL matter later)."

 

OK here is my question:

 

what is the project base point , and where can I find it?

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 2 of 9 (1,164 Views)

Re: what is the project base point ?

01-24-2013 08:07 AM in reply to: rlabib

The Project Base Point is the point where Revit's Origin is located.

 

You can turn it on in VG>Model Categories>Site>Project Base Point.

 

Do a search on Shared Coordinates in this and other Revit forums, and the Wiki Help.

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Active Contributor
rlabib
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
Message 3 of 9 (1,157 Views)

Re: what is the project base point ?

01-24-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: ccollins

Cliff,

 

Thanks again , I'll be posting a lot of questions because I'm building my first template. 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 4 of 9 (1,150 Views)

Re: what is the project base point ?

01-24-2013 08:44 AM in reply to: rlabib

Check out this post:

 

http://www.revitforum.org/tutorials-tips-tricks/1004-building-revit-template.html#post9779

 

Good luck!

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 5 of 9 (1,072 Views)

Re: what is the project base point ?

02-05-2013 08:14 PM in reply to: ccollins

ccollins wrote:

The Project Base Point is the point where Revit's Origin is located.

 


I disagree with that definition. Suppose that you select the project base point, unclip it, and move it away from the original location. Now the project base point is at one place, and Revit's Origin is at a different place, and if now you insert a link by Origin to Origin, the link's origin will be exactly where the project base point was, the original, default location, not where it is now. Therefore, the project base point cannot be defined as the point where Revit's origin is located.

 

I would define it as a point of reference for the project, which marks the origin of the building's coordinate system. The Revit file has 3 coordinate systems, one for the building, one for the site, and one "internal" (the actual origin of the Revit file). At the beginning, all three systems are aligned and have their origins at the same place. If the project base point is moved (clipped), the building moves on the screen, and the internal origin moves along because it is clipped. But if the project base point is unclipped and relocated, now the project base point is at one location, and the internal Revit's origin is at a different location.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 6 of 9 (1,056 Views)

Re: what is the project base point ?

02-06-2013 05:46 AM in reply to: rlabib

Alf,

 

I agree. I should have said "By Default" the PBB is at the "origin".

 

Your explanantion is correct. ( as ususal!) :smileyhappy:

 

I was just trying to give a new user a simple point of reference.

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 7 of 9 (1,021 Views)

Re: what is the project base point ?

02-09-2013 11:01 AM in reply to: ccollins

ccollins wrote:

Alf,

 

I agree. I should have said "By Default" the PBB is at the "origin".

 



That's correct. Thanks for clarifying. :smileyhappy:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
New Member
becmez
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
Message 8 of 9 (750 Views)

Re: what is the project base point ?

09-27-2013 11:58 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Could one of you explain whether the following situation can be fixed easily?  

 

A project was started in Revit without any attention paid to the project base point.  The whole building is modeled and some documentation has begun.  The project consultants will be collaborating in Revit but we haven't shared the model yet.  In preperation for that, we found that our "Project North" should have been rotated but it breaks too much to do that now.  We also found that the "Project Base Point" and the "Survey Point" are in the middle of the building floor plate and we want it to be on an intersection of the property line.  Is it going to mess anything up to move it now?  Or should we just leave it?

 

I haven't been able to find anything on the other forums that address this situation exactly.  

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 9 of 9 (737 Views)

Re: what is the project base point ?

09-27-2013 07:00 PM in reply to: rlabib

If you don't move those points from their default location, every party in the team can use "origin to orgin" all the time, as the method of insertion for links, and everything will be at peace in Revitland.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube