Revit Architecture

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 11 of 23 (878 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: sabtf7

See attachment:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 12 of 23 (875 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

what method will help with the curves? Or should i try both options?

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 13 of 23 (872 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 09:38 AM in reply to: sabtf7

As a reference, the Solids option works better for rendering a model in 3DStudio. In the case of Sketchup, you should try both to explore which option works better for what you need.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 14 of 23 (857 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I tried both they both came into sketchup looking very messy and and unsalvageable darn :-( thanks for your help you are the first person to actually help me so I really appreciated your support.

Employee
davissc
Posts: 291
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 15 of 23 (852 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: sabtf7

The reason it's messy isn't a Revit issue, or an export issue.  It's a Sketchup issue.  Skechup is a planar surface modeler.  Anything drawn as a curve or a curved surface in Sketchup is actually a series of flat, planar surfaces that "rerpresent" a curve..  Sketchup does not draw a curve.  It must facet everything into planar elements.

 

Better question at this point is, why are you needing to go to Sketchup?  Give us some idea about what you are trying to accomplish in Sketchup, and maybe we can give you some Revit techniques to accomplish the same thing.

 

Better to work in a true solids parametric building information modeling application, anyways... :-)



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 16 of 23 (838 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: sabtf7

"How and where exactley do I go to do that that sounds promising?"

 

First thing you might want to do if you only have the free version

of SketchUP is go here and buy the pro version since only the Pro

version will import DWG. http://sketchup.google.com/product/gsup.html

 


Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 17 of 23 (826 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 11:46 AM in reply to: davissc

i would love to not have to go to sketchup!

 I have designed a school and now i am moving into the interiors and it is a nightmare to model everything, because my walls are curved and so when i try to make my own furniture and such it takes forever and never turns out the way i want. It is much more dificult to model in revit than it is in sketchup. Revit should work something out where they have a better selection of imports like sketchup does as well as an easier interface to create organic and astract forms for the interior architects out there like me :-) .

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 18 of 23 (820 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: sabtf7

Revit is not a sketch program, it's a construction program. Unless

you want to use Revit massing, that's like SketchUp only better.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 19 of 23 (811 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 12:19 PM in reply to: sabtf7

sabtf7 wrote:

i would love to not have to go to sketchup!

 ...Revit should work something out where they have a better selection of imports like sketchup does as well as an easier interface to create organic and astract forms...


Perhaps the issue is not about exporting or importing, but learning how to model those forms in Revit. Can you provide an image of the "organic and abstract forms" that cannot be modeled in Revit?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
sabtf7
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 20 of 23 (807 Views)

Re: revit to sketchup

04-16-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

i am looking to something similar to this but having the wall part act as abstract cubed storage cubbiesand then connecting to the ceiling down this long curved hall.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube