Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
mtrblt
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 1 of 10 (327 Views)
Accepted Solution

revit 2014 pause/hang up

327 Views, 9 Replies
03-28-2014 04:29 PM
revit is hanging up/ pausing for 5-7 secs every 15 secs....really slows progress. it feels like the processor is busy doing something else. os: windows 7 64 bit processor: intel core i7 870 @ 2.93GHz ram: 8 gb video: ATI Radeon HD 5700 series (drives 2 monitors, one for palettes) thanks in advance for your input
Product Support
Alaaeldin_Alsahli
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Message 2 of 10 (269 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 08:23 AM in reply to: mtrblt

Do you have Bentley ProjectWise installed on you computer?

If you disable the Antivirus does it make a diffrence?

Keep be me updated



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Active Member
mtrblt
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 3 of 10 (256 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 09:21 AM in reply to: Alaaeldin_Alsahli

Yes...that appears to solve it.  

Any idea what Revit is doing that it's holding up?  

I use AVG.

Active Member
mtrblt
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 4 of 10 (255 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 09:22 AM in reply to: mtrblt
And no I don't have Bentley ProjectWise....
Product Support
Alaaeldin_Alsahli
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Message 5 of 10 (246 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 09:33 AM in reply to: mtrblt

I am not Familiar with AVG but you may have to check if you could add Revit.exe as exception to exclude it from the scaning. 

http://www.avg.com/ca-en/faq.num-5190

i found this link. you may need to add these folders

C:\Program Files\Autodesk

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared 

C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk

C:\Users\XXXXXXX(you user name)xxxxxxxxxxxxxx\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk

C:\Users\XXXXXXX(you user name)xxxxxxxxxxxxxx\AppData\Local\Autodesk



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Product Support
Alaaeldin_Alsahli
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Message 6 of 10 (244 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

03-31-2014 09:34 AM in reply to: mtrblt

Please keep me posted



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Active Member
mtrblt
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 7 of 10 (201 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

04-01-2014 04:37 PM in reply to: Alaaeldin_Alsahli

Hi Alaaeldin,

 

I added the folder exceptions and it seemed like it worked for a while but it's hanging up again.

Temporarily disabling the anti virus software definitely makes a difference, however.

 

AVG also allows you to applications as exceptions so I'm trying that w/ Revit.exe and a few other autodesk processes and services that I can see in the task manager...I will let you know how it goes.

 

Other than that, can you reccomend an anti virus program that plays well w/ autodesk stuff?

 

Thanks!

Product Support
Alaaeldin_Alsahli
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Message 8 of 10 (195 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

04-02-2014 04:23 AM in reply to: mtrblt

Also try to add these as file exception

*.rvt
*.rfa
*.rte
*.dat
*.rws
*.slog



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Product Support
Alaaeldin_Alsahli
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-19-2013
Message 9 of 10 (191 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

04-02-2014 04:40 AM in reply to: mtrblt

The issue with Antivirus, I can't suggest you any because one day you may have to update the antivirus and it may cause an issue with Revit Again.

The best thing is to download a trail and see if it goes well with your system.

At work we are using Microsoft Forfront Endpoint Protection and we have no issues with it.



Alaaeldin Alsahli


Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Active Member
mtrblt
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 10 of 10 (154 Views)

Re: revit 2014 pause/hang up

04-07-2014 10:42 AM in reply to: Alaaeldin_Alsahli
Unfortunately file types can't be added as exceptions, only specific files (with specific names & locations).
I'm still using the temporary disable as a workaround....it's ok but not ideal.
Alaaeldin_Alsahli wrote:

Also try to add these as file exception

*.rvt
*.rfa
*.rte
*.dat
*.rws
*.slog


 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube