Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

revit 2013 files

27 REPLIES 27
Message 1 of 28
abilyeu
11946 Views, 27 Replies

revit 2013 files

I am a CAD instructor, and one of my students downloaded Revit Architecture 2013 to his personal laptop so that he can work on projects at home. We are still using 2012 in class, and when he came to class he couldn't open his 2013 files in 2012. Is there an option like in AutoCAD to save files as an earlier version?

27 REPLIES 27
Message 2 of 28
loboarch
in reply to: abilyeu

Short answer....No.   Once a Revit file has been promoted, there is no way to edit it, or save it back to a previous version.

You can continue to work on it by exporting to IFC and then opening the IFC file in the older version of Revit, but this is only going to bring in the geometry, much of the "Revitness" of the file is going to be lost during the conversion.

Jeff Hanson
Principal Content Experience Designer
Revit Help |
Message 3 of 28
abilyeu
in reply to: loboarch

Wow, that is ridiculous. Before becoming a teacher I worked as a drafter for several different companies. They all used AutoCAD but few had the most recent version. AutoCAD had the feature to save the file as a earlier version, so that when working with other companies, they could open the file reguardless if they didn't have the same version you did. If you want people to use Revit I believe this needs to be fixed. I see this causing chaos out in industry.

Message 4 of 28
downing.nigel