Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cannot close opening for gambrel shed dormer

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
kwg06516
1222 Views, 12 Replies

cannot close opening for gambrel shed dormer

I'm new to Revit and watched every tutorial on roofs and dormers I could find and I can't find a solution.  I have a shed dormer coplanar with the top chord of a gambrel roof.  When I try to use the dormer tool it will not let me select the shed dormer roof to close the loop.  There are no tools beyond picking appropriate edges/planes so I can't close it any other way than picking appropriate planes.  Why doesn't it see this roof plane as appropriate?  

Both the gambrel roof and the shed roof were created from extrusion since I couldn't figure out how to create a sloped roof from the dormer walls that was coplanar with the top chord of the gambrel without tedious manual calculations of wall heights or levels.

I've tried hiding/isolating uninvolved elements for easy picking and attaching/unattaching walls to roofs.

I also tried joining the shed to the gambrel which while successful in and of itself did nothing to help the dormer tool cut the lower chord for the dormer walls.

I am aware there are manual methods to cut the roof and modify the wall profiles but I'm afraid that these methods will not join the elements in way that will produce a correct section or framing detail.

AutoCAD 2010

AutoCAD 2015

Revit 2015

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Alfredo_Medina
in reply to: kwg06516

One possible solution is: 3 roof elements, by footprint, like this:

12-8-2012 4-19-36 PM.jpg

Alfredo Medina _________________________________________________________________ ______
Licensed Architect (Florida) | Freelance Instructor | Autodesk Expert Elite (on Revit) | Profile on Linkedin