Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
tjclapsaddle
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 1 of 7 (282 Views)

Worksets

282 Views, 6 Replies
09-26-2013 09:28 AM

I'm getting an error message when I try and change a workset to make it editable.

 

It says, "Revit could not save all the worksets that have been changed. Try setting the status of the worksets again. If the problem persits, contact Autodesk Support."

 

I'm trying to get 4 people access to work on one project. This is the only error message that is holding us back.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Tyler

Member
tjclapsaddle
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 2 of 7 (275 Views)

Re: Worksets

09-26-2013 09:35 AM in reply to: tjclapsaddle
I am a student at a high school. We are not sure if it is administration problem or something that we are doing wrong.

~Tyler
*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,367
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 3 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: Worksets

09-27-2013 04:37 AM in reply to: tjclapsaddle

Hello and Welcome to the Discussion!

 

So.. Lets start with how you set up the worksets and the central file.

You started a project and then started worksets - correct?

You created a few more and then saved the file as a central file - correct?

You got out of the Central file and created a new local file - Correct? (you never work in the central file!)

Went back into worksets and changed them to NO under editable and then saved and sync'ed to the central?

Then went back into the worksets and tried to change one of the worksets to editable and that is when you got the message?

 

Have you tried working with all the worksets non-editable? It is a bit of an oxymoron - because everything is editable - you just are not an owner of a specific workset, you are a borrower. Everything still works correctly - as soon as you edit an element it is locked down and no one else can edit it until you relinquish it when you sync to the central.

 

Let us know how it goes..

LD

 


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Member
tjclapsaddle
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 4 of 7 (214 Views)

Re: Worksets

09-27-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: LisaDrago

Yes, I have done everything you have suggested. I went to another computer in the classroom and opened the central file and saved it as a local file on that computer with another file name. I then went to change the status of the workset for our Level 1 from yes to no and that is where I got the error message.

 

I cannot save the file to central either. A message keeps coming up saying that it is either read-only or opened by another person.

 

Thanks for your help,

Tyler

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,367
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 5 of 7 (208 Views)

Re: Worksets

09-27-2013 09:03 AM in reply to: tjclapsaddle

Is there only one user right now? you setting it up?

 

You each have a unique user name - or log in name?

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Member
tjclapsaddle
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
Message 6 of 7 (196 Views)

Re: Worksets

09-27-2013 10:21 AM in reply to: LisaDrago

We got it to work. It had to deal with who had rights to the file where the central file was stored. 

 

Thanks for all your help,

Tyler

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,367
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 7 of 7 (194 Views)

Re: Worksets

09-27-2013 10:23 AM in reply to: tjclapsaddle

I am glad you were able to figure it out!

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.