Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
heterarch
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎10-16-2006
Message 11 of 27 (1,085 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

01-07-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Well, that's good to know..  Not that I'm looking for things to lose sleep over, but since the Mayan apocolypse came and went, I guess I'm just naturally looking for something to replace it...  ha.

New Member
paddyJLH
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
Message 12 of 27 (926 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

01-29-2013 10:12 AM in reply to: heterarch

Hi, I am  using Revit LT 2013 and having fatal error issues on topo surface creation. Is it a win 8 issue?

Contributor
jandrews407
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-10-2006
Message 13 of 27 (911 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

01-29-2013 11:49 AM in reply to: beacharchitect

Any ideas if Autodesk will make Revit 2012 compatible with Windows 8?  

 

I cannot update some projects to Revit 2013 and new machines have Windows 8.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,209
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 14 of 27 (908 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

01-29-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: jandrews407

nope

they may or may not make it compatible

New Member
leollwin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-10-2012
Message 15 of 27 (891 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

01-29-2013 06:59 PM in reply to: paddyJLH
Sorry I dont have yet
Contributor
jandrews407
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-10-2006
Message 16 of 27 (880 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

01-30-2013 06:26 AM in reply to: DarrenP

So, I can't use Revit 2013 since I can't save backwards and I need to have my structural model in 2012 to share with my client (architect), who is using 2012 unless I work on a Windows XP or Windows 7 machine.  Affectively Autodesk is telling me to not use the most current OS that Microsoft has until my older projects have faded away.

 

Is there anyway we could get Microsoft & Autodesk to either work together or get in a cage and fight it out winner takes all?:smileymad:

Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 17 of 27 (837 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

02-01-2013 11:18 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I am running Revit 2013 on a Windows 8 platform very successfully.  The only issue I have is a strange floating 'family' dialogue which appears, see:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Revit-Architecture/Floating-Family-Dialog/td-p/3752423

 

I might be just lucky, but it would suggest other issues, software or hardware configurations perhaps, which are causing the problems being experienced.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Distinguished Mentor
Caddman13
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎07-13-2004
Message 18 of 27 (799 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

02-04-2013 11:34 AM in reply to: jandrews407

jandrews407 wrote:

Any ideas if Autodesk will make Revit 2012 compatible with Windows 8?  

 

I cannot update some projects to Revit 2013 and new machines have Windows 8.


I have been using both on Windows 8 just fine.  Revit 2013 works much nicer with update 2.

 

Can't complain otherwise with either version.

 

 

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 19 of 27 (779 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

02-05-2013 06:46 AM in reply to: Caddman13

Caddman13 wrote:

jandrews407 wrote:

Any ideas if Autodesk will make Revit 2012 compatible with Windows 8?  

 

I cannot update some projects to Revit 2013 and new machines have Windows 8.


I have been using both on Windows 8 just fine.  Revit 2013 works much nicer with update 2.

 

Can't complain otherwise with either version.

 

 


This is correct.  If you are going to use Windows 8 you need to work with Revit 2013 Update 2, otherwise you will get strange ribbon/UI behavior due to an incompatibility with Revit and MS .NET 4.5 which is needed for Windows 8.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Distinguished Mentor
Caddman13
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎07-13-2004
Message 20 of 27 (775 Views)

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

02-05-2013 06:51 AM in reply to: loboarch

Jeff,

 

To clarify, Revit 2012 works just fine on Windows 8 also.  Just may not be supported, correct? Because I have not had any issues with 2012.

 

2013 gave me a little trouble before update 2.

 

Thanks

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube