Revit Architecture

Reply
Mentor
MKEllis
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 1 of 11 (412 Views)
Accepted Solution

Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

412 Views, 10 Replies
10-09-2013 10:55 AM

I have a frame created as a sweep in a door family - but for some reason it always shows in blue linework, even when not selected.

 

Any idea if this is to highlight an error or other issue with the model ?

 

It seems to have appeared after I deleted the cut opening outline and replaced it with a couple of Void Extrusions (to allow me to control the wrap of the plaster finish and not have it impact on the structural opening size).

 

The frame does sit within an extrusion void, but it is not selected to cut it.

 

Thanks,

Martin

*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 963
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 2 of 11 (398 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-09-2013 11:32 AM in reply to: MKEllis

I am not sure if this could be the cause , but you can try to check the following:

  1. select the frame - in Properties>Subcategory>select Frame/Mullion -now Revit knows what the sweep is......
  2. Manage>Object Styles>Model Objects>Doors >+>Frame/Mullion > Line Color - is it blue? try to change it ....does it change in your family?....if no, perhaps is another reason...

Image 253.png

 

Image 254.png

 

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Mentor
MKEllis
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 3 of 11 (375 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-09-2013 12:02 PM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

Thanks Constantin,

 

no joy on that one, I had tried looking at object styles, but frames are set to show green rather than blue. Sub-category had defaulted to <none> previously too.

 

There could be an issue somewhere in the file too. Previously I was able to switch a nested family (door leafs) via <Family Type>, but it now throws out any number of 'unable to satisfy constraint' errors when I try.

 

Looks like something has gone a bit up-the-left.

Mentor
MKEllis
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 4 of 11 (369 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-09-2013 12:11 PM in reply to: MKEllis

OK, when I select the sweep, the adjacent Void Extrusion shows in Orange - so is it somehow interacting with the frame ?

 

The void itself doesn't overlap with the frame sweep geometry, although it touches it (they are aligned with the same ref plane).

 

I have tried selecting them to 'Uncut' in case the void is trying to cut it, but that doesn't work either ?

Distinguished Contributor
ChuckEdwards
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 5 of 11 (352 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-09-2013 01:35 PM in reply to: MKEllis

How's about posting the family so it can be tried'n'tested by others?

 

Might lead to a faster diagnosis...

Mentor
MKEllis
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 6 of 11 (343 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-09-2013 02:39 PM in reply to: ChuckEdwards

Thanks Chuck,

 

I'm just re-building the nested door leafs, mainly because I had the origin plane set to the face of the door rather than the center-line. I think this may have been causing a problem with flipping the door leaf within the host family - which I now assume is done about the origin ref. plane (which then causes an offset from the desired location).

 

 

Thanks,

Martin

 

Edited: I've stripped out the nested door leafs, and attached the main door assembly family. There is definitely something odd about the frame sweep interaction with the void extrusion. If anyone can throw some light on the problem it would be really appreciated - thanks.

*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 963
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 7 of 11 (322 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-09-2013 11:18 PM in reply to: MKEllis

If in Object Styles>Model Objects>Doors> Line Color- change to black it works .....I do not understand....in your computer is not the same acting?

Your Door has no allocated subcategories. It'good to allocate them in order to can use different materials for frame and door lead,etc

Image 1.png

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Mentor
MKEllis
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 8 of 11 (309 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-10-2013 03:28 AM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

Thanks Constantin,

 

Can't try that out at the moment, I'll get back onto it this evening - hopefully you are right,

 

What would change the setting from black to blue though - it seemed to occur immediately after using the void extrusions and deleting the opening cut profile. I'm not sure why the void extrusion appears in orange whenever you select the frame either - there seems to be some sort of interaction between the two elements.

 

Thanks

Martin

Mentor
MKEllis
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 9 of 11 (283 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-10-2013 11:51 AM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

Thanks Constantin, that solved the blue colour for the frame element. Still not sure why it flipped over to blue, and still no wiser to why the adjacent void extrusion shows in orange when I select the frame, maybe some quirk with Revit.

 

As per your suggestion, I've been looking into subcategories. I can set them OK with elements in the main Host Family (Which is a Door Category), but I've set the door leafs (panels) as 'Metric Generic' category type, so I can't assign subcategories from the standard Door Category. I didn't set the door panels as 'Doors' as I read that it can interfere with scheduling (ie both the nested door leaf and the host door will appear on the schedule - 2 entries where there should only be 1 - unless this can be controlled by filters ?).

 

Any pointers woudl really be appreciated,

 

thanks again,

Martin

*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 963
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 10 of 11 (271 Views)

Re: Why does a sweep appear in blue ?

10-10-2013 12:58 PM in reply to: MKEllis

 

You can create subcategories as you want and they will appear in schedule as I know...

Even if , by default in Generic Model there are no predefined subcategories , they can be created :

  1. step 1 - being in Generic Model Family > Manage (1) >Object Styles (2) > Model Objects (3) > appears :Category -Generic Models with only one subcategory - Hidden Lines....Bottom -Right  you will see the option : Modify Subcategories (4) - push the button New > Enter a name for for the  new created subcategory .The new subcategory appears in the list (5)
  2. step 2...create an entity > select it (6) > Properties > Identity Data > Subcategory (7) > click on None and the pulldown list appear....you will see subcategory made in step 1 . Click on it to name your entity (8). 
  3. Once in the project, as I know, it must appear in schedules.....

Better , post the file to see exactly where the problem is....so not to recreate all...

 

step1

 

Image 260.png

 

step 2

Image 263.png

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube