Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
ryhane
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 1 of 5 (670 Views)
Accepted Solution

Wall room bounding properties are not maintained

670 Views, 4 Replies
12-15-2010 09:14 AM

I have a restroom where the toilets are housed in separate "rooms" divided by full height/full thickness walls.  I want the restroom to be scheduled including the area of all of the smaller rooms so I unchecked the wall's room bounding property.  However, every time I reopen the project, this property, although unchecked, is back in effect.  How can I get the room bounding property (when unchecked) remain the same when I reopen the file from day to day?  I made a simpler file to test this, but could not produce the same error.

Employee
ryan.duell
Posts: 732
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 5 (644 Views)

Re: Wall room bounding properties are not maintained

12-16-2010 01:27 PM in reply to: ryhane

 

By default the room bounding property of a wall should stick whether checked or un-checked when the file is opened and closed.  I could not reproduce the behavior in some series of testing.
Does this happen on a few walls or every wall with this layout?  I would test the following to see if we can modify this behavior:
1.  Cut & Paste the walls to the same place, verify room bounding is un-checked.  Save and close the project, verify if it remains un-checked on open.
2.  Delete one of the walls this is occurring to, and draw a new wall from scratch of the same type [do not copy or create similar].  Un-check room bounding, save and close file.  Reopen to verify if the same issue occurs.
Please let us know if this was helpful in resolving the issue.  Thank you,

 

By default the room bounding property of a wall should stick whether checked or un-checked when the file is opened and closed.  I could not reproduce the behavior in some series of testing.


Does this happen on a few walls or every wall with this layout?  I would test the following to see if we can modify this behavior:


1.  Cut & Paste the walls to the same place, verify room bounding is un-checked.  Save and close the project, verify if it remains un-checked on open.


2.  Delete one of the walls this is occurring to, and draw a new wall from scratch of the same type [do not copy or create similar].  Un-check room bounding, save and close file.  Reopen to verify if the same issue occurs.


Please let us know if this was helpful in resolving the issue.  Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Member
ryhane
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
Message 3 of 5 (603 Views)

Re: Wall room bounding properties are not maintained

12-21-2010 07:29 AM in reply to: ryhane

Thanks Ryan,

 

Copying and pasting the walls again seems to have fixed the problem, even after a few days of continued use/editing.  Thanks.

 

Kindly,

Ryan Haney

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 4 of 5 (180 Views)

Re: Wall room bounding properties are not maintained

09-13-2013 12:27 PM in reply to: ryan.duell

This is a huge ongoing problem because room bounding is a very prowerful tool. I am using Revit 2013, and this posting was from 2010.  This problem still persists.  Does Autodesk actually recognise these problems or are we waisting our time as I am waisting my time using Revit to draft my projects?

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 788
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 5 of 5 (164 Views)

Re: Wall room bounding properties are not maintained

09-13-2013 07:01 PM in reply to: zoltan_w

To be fair, it's a very minor problem that only occurs rarely, if at all.  I've been using Revit for 6 releases, and have never once encountered the problem, and after testing it in 2012, 2013, and 2014, I was unable to reproduce the issue.  Sometimes modeling errors, whether you're aware of them or not, are the root cause of the problem, not the software.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube