Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wall material width locked?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
eew203
6406 Views, 6 Replies

Wall material width locked?

I am trying to change the wall assembly of my foundations (getting rid of a layer of EIFS) and it won't let me delete the layer or change the width (although I can change it into an airbarier). Is there any way to control what parts of the wall are locked in the "edit assembly" window?

I am very new to Revit and am using a student version, I'm nt sure if that changes things. 

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
ccollins
in reply to: eew203

I'm not sure why you can't delete the EIFS layer.

Try creating a new Wall Type--select a Generic Wall (or other) and Duplicate it, rename it, then try editing the structure.

Does this work?

Or--if you have a simple wall type (concrete with no EIFS) already, place it in the project, then use Match Properties

from it to the wall that you can't change/edit.

If none of that works, please copy/paste the wall into a blank Revit project (.rvt file) and post it here.

Good luck!

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Message 3 of 7
eew203
in reply to: ccollins

Thanks! That worked perfectly! I don't know what I did to get it locked in the beginning. 

Message 4 of 7
jmackniak

First slect and highlight the Insert tab. It will shade blue and the delete tab will become active. Select the layer you wish to delete.

Message 5 of 7
lovebunnysarah

Hi Guys

I am having a problem with my Revit 2013.