Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
jfitz2020
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
Message 1 of 13 (688 Views)
Accepted Solution

Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

688 Views, 12 Replies
12-03-2012 08:06 AM

I am having trouble working with wall hosted elements.  I have linked the architectural model into my Revit File.  It is now my job to run plumbing. 

 

However I cannot insert wall hosted elements such as a Wall Hosted emergency shower (attached).  It does not recognize the wall.  I assume this is becuase it is linked into my model.  Is there any way to use the wall from the linked file to host elements such as these?

 

Furthermore I am able to use another type of elemnent that is surface mounted.  Can I change the Shower to look for a surface as opposed to a wall?

 

Any Help on either topic would be great.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,113
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 13 (685 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-03-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: jfitz2020

You can convert a Wall-Based Family to a Face-Based Family with the following steps:

 

1. Create a new Project, draw a Wall, and load the Family into it.

 

2. Place one instance of each Type of that Family on the Wall. Save the Project somewhere.

 

3. Start another new Project, and Link the previous Project into this one.

 

4. Use the Copy/Monitor tools to create a copy of each instance of that Family in the current Project.

 

5. The copied Family is now Face-Based. You can now save/export the new Family to a separate file.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 3 of 13 (682 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-03-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: jfitz2020

To host families on elements in linked files, you need face-based families. Wall-based families won't attach to linked walls, Ceiling-based families won't attach to linked ceilings,... etc.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 13 (678 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-03-2012 08:22 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

CADastrophe wrote:

You can convert a Wall-Based Family to a Face-Based Family with the following steps:

...

Wow, excellent tip ! Thanks, Corey !!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Mentor
mike
Posts: 236
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 5 of 13 (668 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-03-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: jfitz2020

The OP could also just copy/monitor the wall(s) needed for his fixtures....This would give the advantage of actually being notified if the wall(s) in question ado change down the road.....Just another option.

 

M

Michael L. Maloney
Virtual World Designs
VDC & BIM Model Design, Clash & Coordination
mike@VirtualWorldDesigns.com
Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015
Charlotte, NC ; Fort Mill, SC
Contributor
jfitz2020
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
Message 6 of 13 (659 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-03-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: mike

I have not been able to use the Copy/Monityer function for walls.  Can you do this? 

 

Maybe I am setting up the Link incorreclty??

Active Contributor
sagar.londonites
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 7 of 13 (634 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-03-2012 08:20 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

CADastrophe,

 

Thanks for the tip, but I have a question. While using the copy-monitor tool, I see only limited category of families that can be copied. Please see attached image.

 

Am I missing something? I am trying to convert a wall-based generic model to face-based by using the method you suggested. How to copy the generic model using copy-monitor tool?

- Sagar
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,113
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 13 (617 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-04-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: sagar.londonites

You image shows the Copy/Monitor Options dialog, in which there are options only for the few Categories you see. To see the available Categories for Copy/Monitor, click on Coordination Settings.

 

If the Family that you wish to convert is not of one of the listed Categories, you can edit the Family prior to starting the process and change its Category to something that you can Copy/Monitor, and the change it back when finished.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
sagar.londonites
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 9 of 13 (566 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-06-2012 08:06 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

CADastrophe,

 

Thanks for the reply, but I don't seem to have access to those settings as well. Maybe it's related to Revit build. I'm using Revit Architecture. Does it matter? Is it possible those additional categories are available in Revit MEP only?

- Sagar
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,113
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 10 of 13 (552 Views)

Re: Wall Hosted Element in Linked File

12-07-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: sagar.londonites

I think it would have to do with release rather that flavor, as some of the Copy/Monitor improvements are relatively recent. What version of Revit are you using?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube