Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
a06vsh
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
Message 1 of 14 (3,161 Views)
Accepted Solution

Visual depth in elevation

3161 Views, 13 Replies
12-06-2012 01:20 AM

So here's my question:

 

How do you guys do to visually represent depth in an elevation?

The only answer I've found is to use linework, but that can't be the way to go in a program such as revit. That's the whole point of it, right? To not have to sit and do things manually and then have to change the lines every time something in the building changes. I know that Archicad can show line thickness depending on distance from elevation line. And god do i dislike Archicad, but that's exactly what I'm looking for.

Another answer I've found is to use shadows, but then you get the problem of only being able to print as raster = no sharp lines.

 

So, anyone? I can't be the only one with this problem?

 

Thanks!

 

Victoria

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 14 (3,151 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

12-06-2012 05:04 AM in reply to: a06vsh

There is one trick that works, but only for presentation elevations, meaning not actual elevations with annotations, but a "front" 3d view from the Cube. As shown in this image, a family that is just a sheet of glass with 50 % transparency, is placed among the model, separating it in parts, as per the depth. The front part of the house displays as it is. The second part is behind one sheet of glass, and displays lighter than the first part. The third part is behind two sheets of glass, and displays lighter than the second part, etc...

 

12-6-2012 7-56-38 AM.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Contributor
kentw
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎05-14-2012
Message 3 of 14 (3,129 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

12-06-2012 03:37 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Nice work Alfredo,

 

Youn can also achieve the same result using masses.  In the visibility graphics for the elevation you can set the Mass > Form projection lines to be white so they don't show.  Also use filters to control which masses are visible for the different elevations.

7-12-2012 09-28-07.png

_________________________________________________________________

KarelCAD Application Support Specialist
Active Contributor
a06vsh
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
Message 4 of 14 (3,065 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

01-07-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: a06vsh

Thanks for the replies!

 

However....I still think it's strange that a thing like that should be solved with work arounds as apposed to an actual solution. Or, if there isnt a solution I think there should be a reason for that, and therefor another way of thinking/working with it. And as long as showing shadows mean that you can only print in raster ( = unsharp drawings) I cant think of a decent way of doing it.

 

But please let me know if someone knows how they think over at the autodesk hq :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 5 of 14 (3,062 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

01-07-2013 06:08 AM in reply to: a06vsh

Maybe "workaround" is just another name for "solution".

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Contributor
a06vsh
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
Message 6 of 14 (3,059 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

01-07-2013 06:34 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Hmm....maybe.....

But in my world a solution would be "set line weight according to distance from elevation/section point".

 

If crappy archicad can do it I think awesome Revit should be able to, too!

Valued Mentor
jmcintyre
Posts: 647
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 7 of 14 (3,008 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

01-09-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: a06vsh

You can set up multiple elevations with limited view depths, then overlay the elevations on a single sheet. The first elevation can have all linework set to have thicker lines, the next to have medium lines, the third to have thinner lines etc. That way you can add annotations. Bit fiddly but the only way I've been able to achieve line weights in elevation. Agreed this is one aspect of revit which should have been fixed by now.

Member
marc
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 8 of 14 (2,981 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

01-11-2013 08:45 AM in reply to: jmcintyre

Here is a simple algorithm that Autodesk could implement if they wanted to.

 

  1. The eye point and the object point of a view is known, even if only internally
  2. Therefore, the distance from the eyepoint to the centroid of any object can be calculated
  3. A sliding table of linewights can be created based on the distance from the eyepoint
  4. Lineweights in the view are looked up in the table and displayed based on the distance from the eyepoint

 

BTW: The email address of this post is my IT manager. My email is michael@riccigreene.com

Active Contributor
a06vsh
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
Message 9 of 14 (2,951 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

01-15-2013 04:39 AM in reply to: marc

For all who've had the same issues as I've had:

 

I just now thought of a workaround (until the Revit ppl fix a way to do it properly);

 

In the elevation view, select all objects that you want to be displayed as further away > right click > override graphics in view > by element

and then set a thinner lineweight or halftone

 

Or am I missing something here? Seems like a fairly easy solution, far from perfect, but works.

A bit surprised that I havent found any similar suggestions in all the forums I've searched, so

wondering if maybe there's something that I havent thought of, making it a bad idea.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 10 of 14 (2,945 Views)

Re: Visual depth in elevation

01-15-2013 04:59 AM in reply to: a06vsh

a06vsh wrote:
...

Or am I missing something here? ..


Please look at the attachments in message # 2 and # 3 above. If we select the roof and make it halftone, the whole roof would become halftone, instead of having shades of gray as per the visual depth, as in those examples.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube