Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 1 of 3 (234 Views)

Urgent Help - Element corrupt

234 Views, 2 Replies
02-08-2013 04:16 PM

Need urgent help...

 

Earlier today we started getting a "Element 177247 became corrupt some time before this session" every time we try to save to central. Tried to open the central file and save a new local, got the same error. The only recovery files we were able save kick us back  two days (this is nearly 30 hours of work between two people). Now it's also telling me that the central file moved from the server to my desktop.... arrrggg!!

 

Searched the forum and saw some advice about searching for the element by id# and deleting, but we cannot open any of the files that are up to date with the corrupt element. Any and all advice on how to recover the last two days of work would be greatly appreciated. We are trying to hit a deadline for mid next week, so needless to say this is extremely untimely.

 

Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 788
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 2 of 3 (209 Views)

Re: Urgent Help - Element corrupt

02-10-2013 10:05 AM in reply to: bozk

If your file has linked elements (CAD or Revit files) that could be causing the error, you can temporarily move those to a different location so that they are not found, and therefore not loaded, when you open the file.  Then selectively re-load them to see which one is the problem child.

 

If there are no linked files, or it still won't open with the linked files unloaded/relocated, and you've got a workshared file, try opening the file without loading any of the worksets.  Reload the worksets one at a time until you find the one that causes the error.

 

After each of the stages outlined above, try and do a search by element ID to find the one that's causing the problem.  

 

Alternatively, you could open a previous version of the file, search by element ID, and see if the element was there before.  If so, you might be able to figure out which of the above two things (linked file or workset) is causing the problem.  My money is on a linked file, but just to be sure, I outlined what else might be causing the problem.

 

Hope that helps.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
Message 3 of 3 (65 Views)

Re: Urgent Help - Element corrupt

11-14-2013 02:13 AM in reply to: bozk

I had the same problem as above, I moved all the linked files but to no avail. I then tried and Audit on the model and that seemed to sort the problem. :-)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube