Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
jimk
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 1 of 4 (601 Views)

UIstate.dat

601 Views, 3 Replies
12-14-2011 03:15 PM

Any know where I can place a UIstate.dat file that will get copied to each new launch of Revit 2012. I have the Revit.ini figured out - was able to edit the .XML file. But we have a corporate UIstate that we would like to have launch with each user. We are using the citrix client so we basically have one install and as users come in and launch Revit they are greeted with the out of the box UIstate, that file must exist somewhere that I can replace with our corporate file.

 

Thanks

Contributor
nddesign
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-09-2004
Message 2 of 4 (591 Views)

Re: UIstate.dat

12-14-2011 06:58 PM in reply to: jimk

I use a batch file to restore it, (on an as needed basis), but it would be more elegant to force it to run each revit launch.  I havent figured that bit out yet either.  Here is my batch file.  You would need to change the path location to suit your office practice  .  The xcopy command should be all on one line.

 

ECHO This will restore the uistate....
xcopy /y "C:\Users\YOUR NAME\YOUR FOLDER\UIState.dat" "C:\Users\YOUR NAME\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\Revit\Autodesk Revit Architecture 2012"
echo done

Active Contributor
jimk
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 3 of 4 (574 Views)

Re: UIstate.dat

12-15-2011 02:20 PM in reply to: jimk

Thank you for your time -

 

So there is no way to control this from the get go? Like with the INI file? It just seems some default UIstate file gets thrown in there on first launch, I was just hoping to tell it which one to do.

 

We are on a cloud environment using citrix. As new users log in, they will be running Revit for the first time. I just want it to use a predetermined UIstate. Was hoping to find out where the location of that was, or where it gets the out of the box one. If I could control in my deploy or somewhere that would be great.

 

Thanks for the response,

Jim

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 4 of 4 (547 Views)

Re: UIstate.dat

12-20-2011 07:44 AM in reply to: jimk

jimk,

 

Hello. You could build a script to replace the user UIState.dat file with a corporate one, but each user can make changes to their file after they launch. Your script would need to replace the file after each launch.

 

It sounds like you have some needs outside the current design of the application. I would suggest you make a request to our development group for them to possibly include new functionality in a future release.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

 

The more information you include on your needs, the better they will be able to understand your need.

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski                

 

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png

 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support

beyond design.png

 



David Dembkoski

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube