Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
DarkCrow
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-05-2008
Message 1 of 11 (957 Views)

Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

957 Views, 10 Replies
07-30-2008 04:25 PM
Hi i'm having an issue.
I've been trying to construct a wal with the start leve being the ground floor and the finishing Level being First floor level. every time i try to do this tho i get this message occur

"Top Constraint is invalid for the Level."
What am i doing wrong?
Distinguished Contributor
melarch
Posts: 1,707
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 2 of 11 (960 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

07-31-2008 04:40 AM in reply to: DarkCrow
Are the Ground Floor Level and the First Floor Level the same datum elevation, even though their names are different. YOu cannot attach the base and top constraints to the same datum elevation, even though the names of the levels in the Project Browser are different.

Mel Persin, AIA
AEC Technology Consultant
Technology to Visualize and Realize Solutions
Modeling for the Future/Drafting in the Present/Building on the Past
Contributor
DarkCrow
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-05-2008
Message 3 of 11 (960 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

08-04-2008 07:23 PM in reply to: DarkCrow
No they aren't, and if i create a wall using the reference level as the base level it creates the wall. the i can modify it so that the base is ground floor level.
Contributor
fredrik
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
Message 4 of 11 (279 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

01-27-2014 06:11 AM in reply to: DarkCrow

This is an old post, I know, but I need to revive it, since I have the exact same problem.

I even already have walls that use the exact same base and top constrains as the wall I'm trying to create. What am I doing wrong..?

All best
/Fredrik
Contributor
fredrik
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
Message 5 of 11 (271 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

01-27-2014 07:05 AM in reply to: fredrik

Alright, I figured it out.
In the green "design bar" (on top) there is an option for "Height/Depth". If set to "Depth", Revit seems to expect a wall to be drawn from top to bottom, and setting a "top constraint" in this mode actually means the _bottom_ constraint of the wall, resulting in the an error where you on the one hand tell the program to draw from top to bottom, but on the other hand tell it to place the end point "below" the base. #Up-side-down-world

By changing this option to "Height", you are allowed to set any regular top constraint above your Base constraint.

Side note: The reason for even putting this option in, and on top of that making "Depth" the default, is beyond me.
It would have been so much easier for everybody if "top" actually meant top, regardless of what direction you usually draw your walls :smileywink:

All best
/Fredrik
Valued Contributor
damo3
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎12-11-2011
Message 6 of 11 (253 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

01-27-2014 07:02 PM in reply to: DarkCrow

I believe this is a function often used by structural engineers. I have seen a few discussions on this. They tend to work top down, hence the option. I noticed once, when i brought a column in from the revit library, its default function was depth instead of height. took me a while to work out why my columns werent showing in plan. 

Distinguished Contributor
Steve_Stafford
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 7 of 11 (246 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

01-27-2014 11:52 PM in reply to: damo3

Historical anomaly...

 

Developers heard structural engineers describe their process as focused on designing structure at their feet while architect's tend to design thinking of structure supporting things above them. When place a beam it is placed at the associated level of the current view (assuming working in a plan view) and unless the view is properly configured it won't be visible because the beam is actually below the level (top flange is flush with the level). As a result a typical structural floor plan view has a very different View Range configuration than a typical architectural floor plan.

 

When the developers created the column placement behavior originally (years ago) it only offered Depth. This confused us and we were told, "That's what you told us you wanted!" That's what was interpreted, incorrectly, from the input the developers received. We may place beams "at our feet" but we want columns to go from here up to the next level. They responded by adding the option/toggle for Depth/Height but the default behavior, at least in stock templates and deployments is Depth.

 

What's this got to do with walls? When you place a Structural Wall Revit has this same belief about Depth/Height, favoring Depth. In this case it is assumed that we don't usually design a basement first. More often we focus on habitable spaces first, usually the ground floor. Later we can sketch foundation walls by tracing the walls on the ground floor (looking at them in their plan view) using the Depth option. This means we can create walls that are aligned quite easily while working from a comfortable view. Alternatively we can use the Underlay setting in the basement plan to see the walls above too.

 

The settings we choose are remembered, for the most part, and quite often we see the error this thread started with when we forget that we used Depth and now we don't want that setting anymore. It also happens by default when we work with structural wall types and columns. We have to remember to check the Options Bar.

My other older self here: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/46056
Contributor
fredrik
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
Message 8 of 11 (238 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

01-28-2014 12:16 AM in reply to: damo3
I'm a structural engineer :smileyhappy: We actually tend to look up, not down. The reason being [tradition] it makes sense to see what you need to carry on any particular level.
Maybe you are thinking of architects?
All best
/Fredrik
Distinguished Contributor
Steve_Stafford
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 9 of 11 (228 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

01-28-2014 09:49 AM in reply to: DarkCrow

I'm just relating what was told to me years ago by someone who worked on Revit. Many of the engineers I've worked with nod in agreement but it doesn't suprise me to meet someone who thinks differently. :smileyhappy:

My other older self here: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/46056
Contributor
fredrik
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
Message 10 of 11 (214 Views)

Re: Top Constraint is invalid for the Level.

01-29-2014 01:11 AM in reply to: Steve_Stafford
Same here, not surprising at all.
Side-note: I asked around, apparently it's more common west and south of here to draw that way as well. Since I'm where would be considered pretty much north, maybe it's not such a fringe thing, and the option makes sense all of a sudden :smileyhappy:.
All best
/Fredrik

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube