Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
dtdesign
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 1 of 4 (946 Views)
Accepted Solution

Title Block Family Parameters

946 Views, 3 Replies
06-27-2012 11:30 AM

Does anyone know how to create a 'No/Yes' or visibility parameter for a title block?  I have my Architectural Seal as an image inserted into my title block family.  I want to have that as a parameter for visibility so I can have it turned off (yeah, I know - AutoCAD language - sorry) until I am ready to print for final building department submission filing.

 

If possible, this would be a global adjustment so I would operate this parameter once and will affect all the sheets in the project instead of having two title block families and swapping those out at the time of filing.

 

Thanks in advance for any help.

 

Dave

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 4 (942 Views)

Re: Title Block Family Parameters

06-27-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: dtdesign

Remove the image from the title block. Create a new generic annotation family, and insert the image in it. Load this annotation into the titleblock family, place it on the titleblock, and associate its visibility with a yes/no type parameter. If the parameter is yes, the seal will be visible in all the sheets. Otherwise, it will be hidden.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,166
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 4 (936 Views)

Re: Title Block Family Parameters

06-27-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: dtdesign

As the previous post indicates, you can't control an Image's visibility with Parameters.

 

And to elaborate on how to create the Yes/No Parameter:

 

In the title block family, under the Home tab, click Family Types. Click "Add..." on the right. Enter a Name for your parameter, and set the Type to "Yes/No".

If you wish, you can set the Group to "Graphics", but this only affects how the parameter will be sorted under Properties.

Now there are two choices**: "Type" and "Instance". Choose "Type" and click OK. Click OK again to close the Family Types Dialog.

 

Now that your Parameter is created, select your Generic Annotation. Under properties, you will see a Parameter for Visibility. Click on the small gray button to the right side of this Parameter. Choose your Parameter from the list - this will create a direct link. Load the family back into project.

 

**In this case, you want "Type" so that this Parameter will control all of the borders in your project of that Type. Instance would be the case only if you needed to turn it on in specific Sheets.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
dtdesign
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 4 of 4 (927 Views)

Re: Title Block Family Parameters

06-27-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

It must be because I come from many years of an AutoCad user - and AutoCad Architecture.  I find that Revit is so darn easy sometimes it is hard.  The solution you both presented was clear and obvious - but, things in AutoCad aren't always obvious - I need to break out of that mentality...

 

Thanks you two for the information!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube