Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
regalith
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-02-2010
Message 1 of 16 (1,653 Views)

Text editing

1653 Views, 15 Replies
09-08-2011 11:34 AM

Revit 2011 text editing

 

How do I keep the formating stable in the text editing.  I have columns separated by tabs.  Every time I click to edit the text Revit re-arranges the paragraph.  I can't keep the format stable so the columns read correctly.  I never had this problem with CAD.

 

I feel like a Beta tester right now trying to produce permit documents on a program that isn't finished yet.

Alumni
kathryn.langan
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 2 of 16 (1,616 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-12-2011 06:25 AM in reply to: regalith

It might have to do with the zoom scale when you're editing the text versus when the text was created. I would suggest taking a look at the following post on our Support blog, the Revit Clinic: Text Wrapping Inconsistencies

 

I hope this helps!

 



Katie Langan
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 810
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 3 of 16 (1,601 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-13-2011 11:11 AM in reply to: kathryn.langan

With all due respect, Katie, the "solution" posted on the blog is to "try and zoom to the same level as when the original text was created," which is impossible if the text was created by someone else.  And zooming extents every time new text has to be created?  C'mon, that's just ridiculous.

 

Why does it behave this way?  It seems like it should be such a simple fix...

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Valued Contributor
regalith
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-02-2010
Message 4 of 16 (1,590 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-13-2011 03:27 PM in reply to: kathryn.langan

I find that solution completely unworkable.  As the other commentor stated if the text is created by another person or even by me several weeks ago how am I to remember what scale I was zoomed at when I created the text.

 

The solution I ultimately have found is to abandon paragraph text and have each group of words a separate text element.  Even text that is in the same line needs to be a separate element to stay consistant.  This reminds me of acad r10.  Revit is equal with software written 20 year ago as far as text goes.

 

Chris

Alumni
kathryn.langan
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 5 of 16 (1,578 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-14-2011 04:59 AM in reply to: regalith

This behavior is currently being investigated by the development team to be addressed in the future - so the blog post is really just an explanation of how it works now, and how you might be able to get around it. The zoom level doesn't have to be exactly the same, just close. I apologize though as I realize it's not ideal; it is just a suggestion based on the way it currently works.

 

Hearing comments directly from customers helps to build traction on items like these, so I would really suggest providing a business case as to how this affects your firm at the Feedback site.



Katie Langan
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
bt1138
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Message 6 of 16 (1,567 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-14-2011 11:15 AM in reply to: kathryn.langan

 

Hearing comments directly from customers helps to build traction on items like these, so I would really suggest providing a business case as to how this affects your firm at the Feedback site.

 

I don't mean to be petty about this, but it seems kind of incredible that we'd have to give you guys feedback on something like this, so you could build a case to deal with it.  

 

It should be self-evident that this is a really sucky behavior that ought to be fixed. Along with all the rest of the text shortcomings in Revit. Hanging indent? Paragraph spacing between numbered paragraphs? Adjustable tabs? 

 

In the meantime, I really appreciate that Adesk workers troll this site, and look for feedback from the rabble who use the software.

Valued Contributor
regalith
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-02-2010
Message 7 of 16 (1,529 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-27-2011 02:21 PM in reply to: regalith

Revit gets a big fat "F" as in failure when it comes to text.  

 

From now on we are do the text in MSWord printing to pdf then importing them into the file.  

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 810
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 8 of 16 (1,517 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-27-2011 07:41 PM in reply to: regalith

But you can't import a pdf into Revit...

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Valued Contributor
regalith
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-02-2010
Message 9 of 16 (1,510 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-27-2011 09:28 PM in reply to: regalith

I think I tried a pdf today, worked fine.  Imported at an image.  Could have been a jpg.  Either one is better than native Revit text.  I'll try it again in the morning and let you know how it works.

 

 

Valued Contributor
regalith
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-02-2010
Message 10 of 16 (1,497 Views)

Re: Text editing

09-28-2011 09:08 AM in reply to: regalith

You're right it was a jpg I tested yesterday.  It still printed and looked fine.  The other option might be to do all the text in autocad and then link the file.  That way the text would stay formated correctly.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube