Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 1 of 5 (281 Views)
Accepted Solution

Tagging a 3D View

281 Views, 4 Replies
12-30-2013 10:00 AM

I know that you cannot tag a Revit original 3D view, marked "{3D}" from memory, but I have recently tagged a 3D view of my own creation quite successfully.  However I created a new 3D view today, in another project, but could not get the tags to work.  Explicitly the 'create instance' in the right click menu of a Tag family member was greyed (sorry grayed) out!  I then opened the previous 3D view that had been successfully tagged in a previous project to see what might be the differences in the views but only found that the same thing was now happening there!  Both views have locked orientations set on their home views.  I'm baffled, any ideas?

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Mentor
cbcarch
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 2 of 5 (275 Views)

Re: Tagging a 3D View

12-30-2013 10:18 AM in reply to: IMCornish
You must Lock the 3D View first, then Tag it.
Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Specialist
Autodesk Revit Expert Elite
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 3 of 5 (248 Views)

Re: Tagging a 3D View

12-31-2013 02:47 AM in reply to: cbcarch

 


cbcarch wrote:
You must Lock the 3D View first, then Tag it.

You missed my last line "Both views have locked orientations set on their home views.  I'm baffled, any ideas?"

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,169
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 5 (239 Views)

Re: Tagging a 3D View

12-31-2013 06:26 AM in reply to: IMCornish

By chance, are those 3D Camera Views? Elements in Camera Views cannot be Tagged if the View is created as a "Perspective" View.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 5 of 5 (188 Views)

Re: Tagging a 3D View

01-24-2014 02:12 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

I've realised what was happening. I was trying to create a 'tag' from the 'Project Browser' rather than the 'Tag' ribbon! Why what I was doing, does not work, seems a bit obscure but all sorted now.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube