Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
DavidRaines
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 1 of 26 (6,385 Views)
Accepted Solution

Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

6385 Views, 25 Replies
06-03-2010 01:52 PM
What is the real reason Autodesk will not permit Revit to be saved back to a previous version, say at least 1 year. Updating does not occur simultaneously at once therefor us using a newer version must go back to using a earlier version until our consultants are able to upgrade. It doesn't make any sense. I can still save back to an earlier version of AutoCAD. Why not be a little more user friendly.

Thanks
David Edited by: DavidRaines on Jun 3, 2010 8:52 PM
*Dave Jones
Message 2 of 26 (6,387 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

06-03-2010 05:00 PM in reply to: DavidRaines
On 6/3/2010 1:53 PM, DavidRaines wrote:
> What is the real reason Autodesk will not permit Revit to be saved back to a previous version, say at least 1 year. Updating does not occur simultaneously at once therefor us using a newer version must go back to using a earlier version until our consultants are able to upgrade. It doesn't make any sense. I can still save back to an earlier version of AutoCAD. Why not be a little more user friendly.
>
> Thanks
> David
>
> Edited by: DavidRaines on Jun 3, 2010 8:52 PM

because the model will be tainted if it could be opened in earlier
versions. It would lose any content that could only be created with the
latest version which would defeat the purpose of the software. I didn't
understand this originally either and it sort of PO'd me but now that
I've been using Revit for a bit and see what 2011 does that 2009 and
2010 didn't I can see why someone can't use my 2011 models. There's a
free 30 day trial download of 2011 that can be installed if it's a big
problem for someone. Revit isn't like AutoCAD where you can stay with
R14 and be OK. Gotta get on the upgrade trail with this software. Not
Autodesks fault in this case IMO
--
Dave - DDP
Acad 2011 and Revit 2011
Win 7 Pro 64 bit
Intel I7-860 @2.8GHz
12GB DDR3 RAM
GeForce GTX260
Valued Contributor
DavidRaines
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 3 of 26 (6,341 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

06-05-2010 07:39 PM in reply to: *Dave Jones

It all makes sense now. thanks

New Member
MaxFX
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 4 of 26 (6,007 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

09-01-2010 08:09 AM in reply to: *Dave Jones

That answer isn't satisfactory.  All new software contains new 'features' that the previous version didn't have.  Revit's content isn't new per version.

Valued Mentor
mbuonocore
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎01-27-2006
Message 5 of 26 (5,968 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

09-03-2010 06:28 AM in reply to: MaxFX

Does Archicad or other BIM type softwares allow save down to previous versions?  We all know what the real reason is.

Active Contributor
scritchoune
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 6 of 26 (5,927 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

09-06-2010 06:05 AM in reply to: mbuonocore

They should at least let us use an "export to previous version" tool and let us choose to update OR NOT an existing file where we will do only some basic changes !

 

I'm the only one to work on Revit 2011 and Civil 3D 2011 in my company ! everybody else is on Acad with different Releases licenses (from LT2000 to 2011)

 

So when I make something in Civil that I've to give to someone else, I HAVE to export it from civil to ACAD otherwise they will only see a dumby empty dwg

 

When I'm in Revit 2011 I can't event export my 2011 rvt to a dumber 2010 rvt with some massing elements or open a subcontractor's RVT2010 file, move some walls, without converting it to 2011and making it unopenable for them... that's realy silly IMHO !

New Member
gduncan1974
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-06-2010
Message 7 of 26 (5,910 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

09-06-2010 12:53 PM in reply to: scritchoune

At least the latest version should be able to open, edit, and save back a project created in a previous version.  So now if consultant A has Revit 2008, consultant B has Revit 2009, and consultant C has Revit 2010, they can't work together at all?  OK, they could all upgrade to 2011, but then they would lose the ability to work with anyone who uses a previous version.  What's the solution, besides having a license for every release?

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 8 of 26 (5,880 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

09-07-2010 01:22 PM in reply to: gduncan1974

gduncan1974 wrote:

  What's the solution, besides having a license for every release?


Subscription allows you to keep and run older versions of the software.  Up to 3 years older.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Distinguished Contributor
lhmoman
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 9 of 26 (5,829 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

09-09-2010 10:16 AM in reply to: DavidRaines

What about template files can you share them across different versions, or do you have to create dupicates of each on for each version?

Distinguished Contributor
lhmoman
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 10 of 26 (5,828 Views)

Re: Saving Revit Back To A Previous Version

09-09-2010 10:18 AM in reply to: DavidRaines

Also, If a project was created on a different version, what happens?

Does the file get corrupted or does it not even open up?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube