Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
sigurjon81
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 1 of 4 (687 Views)

Rounding up length parameters

687 Views, 3 Replies
10-16-2012 07:58 AM

Hi

I am making a Schedules for metal flashings that i have added to my project. I have not had any problems using shared parameters to get the length of my line based families and everything is working fine.

But now comes the tricky part. I need to somehow add a parameter that would roundup my real lengths to my production lengths. f.eks i have couple flashings that are 2569mm And what i would like the schedule to show is that I have couple of 3000mm flashings.

Is anyone getting me?

I have been reading about formular but havent really found the answer so i was hoping somone here could help?

Regards

Sigurjón

 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (677 Views)

Re: Rounding up length parameters

10-16-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: sigurjon81

You have to do a little bit of unit manipulation with a formula, but you can force the rounding to a specific increment. Below is an example.

 

Parameter Name        Value          Formula                                                        

TrueLength          |  2569 mm  |  = 

RoundedLength  |  3000 mm  |  =  roundup(TrueLength / 500 mm) * 500 mm

 

The above parameter, "RoundedLength", will return the value of "TrueLength" rounded up to the nearest 500 mm.

 

 

⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗
Welcome to the Autodesk forums, sigurjon81!
Feel free to post any questions you may have! There are many experienced users here who generously contribute their time and effort to supporting
their peers. This is an open, peer-supported forum, so feel free to contribute any useful information or experiences to any of the topics you see here.
We hope you'll stick around a while and help strengthen the value of this community!
───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Be sure to review the Ground Rules, visit the FAQ Forum, and use the Search feature prior to posting a question, as it's likely been asked before.
⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Contributor
peterlyh
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-21-2007
Message 3 of 4 (623 Views)

Re: Rounding up length parameters

10-30-2012 02:03 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Quick question.

I am using 2011 version, which doesn't have the "roundup" function. Is there any way to do that in 2011?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (613 Views)

Re: Rounding up length parameters

10-30-2012 06:01 AM in reply to: peterlyh

peterlyh wrote:

"Quick question.

I am using 2011 version, which doesn't have the "roundup" function. Is there any way to do that in 2011?"


I believe that you can. I don't currently have 2011 to test with, but this should work. You will need to add a third parameter as an Integer to force the number to round. This will also add a little extra formula work to force it to specifically round up.

 

Parameter Name        Value          Formula                                                                                                                                               

TrueLength          |  2569 mm  |  = 

IntegerLength     |  5              |  =  TrueLength / 500 mm

RoundedLength  |  3000 mm  |  =  IntegerLength * 500 mm + if(IntegerLength * 500 mm < TrueLength , 500 mm, 0 mm)

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube