Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
mcobb
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-18-2014
Message 1 of 12 (318 Views)
Accepted Solution

Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

318 Views, 11 Replies
02-21-2014 12:30 AM

I have a colleague who has counciled me that sometimes it makes sense to create mass-elements for complicated gabled roof elements.  Since I am pretty darn new to Revit, I am bringing in some old 2D dwg information (plans and elevations) and I'm trying to use this information to generate an in-place mass that is my roof.  I'm essentially extruding gabled roof information from this geometry.  So far so good.  But when I try to rotate this information I find the program unwilling to do this.  I have a suspicion this has something to do with the fact this in-place mass is either being hosted by the intitial horiontal working plane, or it is "pinned" to something I don't want it to be pinned to.  Does anyone have any advice on how rotate in-place mass elements?  You would really be helping me out.

 

Thank you. 

Regards,

Mike
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 960
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 2 of 12 (298 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 02:05 AM in reply to: mcobb

try this:

  1. select the Mass Object > Modify / Mass > Edit In Place  - Image 001
  2. Edit in Place > select again the whole object (cross selection) > Form Element > Pick New Host  > choose Face and drag of a face - Image 002,003 and 004
  3. or choose Work Plane and choose the new Host plane - Image 005

Image 003.png

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Contributor
mcobb
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-18-2014
Message 3 of 12 (273 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 07:45 AM in reply to: constantin.stroescu
I'll definitely give this shot in a little bit. Thank you for your thoughtful response.
Regards,

Mike
Contributor
mcobb
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-18-2014
Message 4 of 12 (252 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 12:20 PM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

Thank you so much for this description.  Do you think this methodology is a good one for constructing complex roofs in revit.  I found myself another method as well.  I imported dwg elevation information into various elevation views to act as a guide in constructing in-place mass elements.  This neatly avoided some of the rotation issues I asked you about earlier.  I placed each dwg elevation into each corresponding view and constructed mass element extrusions from there.   Once I joined, coped and cut the various masses I pulled roof elements from the various faces of the composite mass element.  Is this another viable approach.  I noticed the roof elements were always generated DOWN from the top face.  Is this the only behaviour one should expect from this approach?  Any further enlightenment is appreciated.  This whole roof issues is clearly my biggest obstacle to executing complex wood frame buildings in Revit and I would love to have a reliable way to solve it.

 

Thanks again for all your help.

 

Mike

Regards,

Mike
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 5 of 12 (245 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 12:50 PM in reply to: mcobb

Please post some images of what you are trying to do. Maybe you don't need in-place elements, maybe you do. It's difficult to tell without seeing anything.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Contributor
mcobb
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-18-2014
Message 6 of 12 (235 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 01:29 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thank you for your continued attention to this.  Here's a working shot of what I'm trying to accomplish.  It shows the basic roof geometry.  The massing in the 3D view is slightly "inflated because I created an in-place mass that went to the extremities of the eaves.  I did this so I could pull up my roof faces.  The surprise there was that the roof faces went down instead of up.  When I tried to move this, there was no helpful snapping. I'm sure I'm exhibiting an "old" mindset with all this.  I'm use to working with Rhino and Vectorworks.

 

 

Parallels Picture 4.png

Regards,

Mike
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 960
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 7 of 12 (221 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 01:53 PM in reply to: mcobb

it could be done using Roof by Footprint using 3 roofs with Join Roof...

 

Image 567.png

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Contributor
mcobb
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-18-2014
Message 8 of 12 (213 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 02:08 PM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

Cool!  There is also a shed roof between the pair of gables that attaches to the major gable.  I hadn't included that one yet.  The low point of this shed element is actually the lowest spring point of all  roofs.   Would you do this the same way or would this be a small piece of in-place mass elementing?  I'll send an image shortly. 

 

Regards,

 

Mike

 

Regards,

Mike
Contributor
mcobb
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-18-2014
Message 9 of 12 (201 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 02:43 PM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

HI constantin.stroescu

 

So here are a couple images that comes close to showing the entire situation.  Does this still look like the sort of thing you would do with a "creat roof from walls" operation.  A complications that cropped up in the redesign process:  The client wants a window in the location indicated in yellow in the third attached image.  I tried generating the roof from walls previously and ran into some complications because of the need to segment the walls in the middle of this window.  If you're able to speak to this too it would be great.  Maybe generate the roof without the window and modify the walls later without modifying the pregenerated roof?  Sounds tricky to revise later.  I don't need to do this completely by the book.  If you see a "workaround" that is not how you'd do it in every situation - but maybe just in this one - I'm all ears.  Your input is greatly appreciated. 

 

Mike

Existing Situation.png

Roof Configuration.png

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-21 at 2.37.05 PM.png

Regards,

Mike
*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 960
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 10 of 12 (193 Views)

Re: Rotating In-Place Mass Elements

02-21-2014 03:30 PM in reply to: mcobb
  1. there are five roofs by footprint :  A two of B and one C
  2. Roof A and B are conected using Join Roof  -Image 04
  3. Roof B and C are conected using Join Geometry- Image 04
  4. Roof C is with only one slope as shown in Image 02 and Image 03 
  5. Attach Walls to Roof one by one

 

Image 01.png

 

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube