Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
steveterhune
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
Message 1 of 4 (670 Views)

Revit won't start

670 Views, 3 Replies
10-19-2012 10:47 AM

I am unable to start Revit. I have installed, uninstalled over and over and still get a window showing an exclamation point in a yellow triangle. I tried to install 2012 and that wouldn't work. It was looking for a file when it said it still had 5 of 8 steps to go.

I did download the update. Even tried downloading from the site rather than my disks.

Same problem with Autocad and Architecture.

I have a 64-bit machine. Revit 2012 has worked previously on this computer.

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,029
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 2 of 4 (628 Views)

Re: Revit won't start

10-22-2012 08:53 AM in reply to: steveterhune

I think others who have had installation problems have been advised to completely uninstall the program first, using revo-installer or something like that. Search these forums for similar problems, to get the exact info. You should also be able to get installation help directly from autodesk. Thirdly, there's a licensing forum here that is for exactly these kind of quesitons :smileyhappy:

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Member
steveterhune
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
Message 3 of 4 (621 Views)

Re: Revit won't start

10-22-2012 10:18 AM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

Thx Bob. I had uninstalled using the normal method thru Autodesk software. I decided to take your advice, reinstall Revit (which again didn't work), then use Revo to uninstall again. Well, Revo doesn't even see Revit! It worked when I wanted to uninstall Design Review, and did a great job with that. Very puzzling, and keeping me from working at this point.

Product Support
alan.quinn
Posts: 593
Registered: ‎09-08-2010
Message 4 of 4 (594 Views)

Re: Revit won't start

10-23-2012 05:10 AM in reply to: steveterhune

Try a clean install and reinstall. Removing Revit from the Control Panel > Add/Remove Applications does not remove the entire application. Please read over and carefully follow all the instructions.

 

2013: How to Complete a Clean Install [Uninstall] of Revit products

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18782231&linkID=9243099

 

Hope this helps and thanks for posting.

 

 



Alan Quinn
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube