Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Revit question

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
bobafett
6326 Views, 18 Replies

Revit question

I am new to using Revit and I am just trying to figure out how it works to be honest. I have made a 2 floor building in ACAD ARCH 13 and when I import the DWG files into Revit, they just show the 2D line drawings even when I look in 3D mode. Do I have to re make all of the walls and such in Revit or am I missing a step to import all of the windows, doors, and wall heights?

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
ccollins
in reply to: bobafett

There is no automatic "convert ACA to Revit" tool. You will need to model the building in Revit.

You could use the ACA .dwgs ( 2D / flattened ) to trace Revit Walls over to get a quick start--but be careful--

Revit does not play nicely with AutoCad files, and it will throw up errors saying "line is slightly off axis and may cause unexpected errors" or something to that effect.

The best way forward is to throw out AutoCad and ACA and dive into Revit headlong. I am speaking from years of experience having already gone thru this years ago.

Good luck!

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Message 3 of 19
bobafett
in reply to: ccollins

Doesn't that defeat the purpose of them selling two different softwares that are supposed to play well togeather? I guess I will need to learn Revit eventually, but I have been using ACAD since R12 when my mom showed me how to draft. I am a mechanical engineer by trade and use Solidworks for that, this is more of a hobby for me since I get the student versions for free because I am a doctoral student. Thank you for your quick reply though.

Message 4 of 19
michael