Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Revit is driving me mental

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
NigelParsons4560
464 Views, 4 Replies

Revit is driving me mental

Ive been using AutoCAD since 1986.

Revit is driving me insane.  Training, videos, and online tutorials work fine in a "canned demo' situation, but I can never get the software to work for a real life application.

It is Friday.  I've spent 5 days trying to draw up an existing house that would have taken me 4-5 hours on AutoCAD.

I've spent $5000 on this software, plus annual subscriptions to 2016 paid in advance.

This week has cost me another $4000 in wasted time.

Why is this bloody software so difficult to use?

Why can't I just add a few lines to a door to show a window?

Why do my walls keep moving?  I draw a room 2400x3600.  An hour later it is 2407.3x3608.1  Why?  Why? Why?

Do you think my client cares?  Does my bank care? Does the tax department care?  No frelling way!

I have never been so pissed off in my life.  With the economic downturn I can no longer afford the luxury of an assistant to do all my drawing.

Screw it!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5

How much of your investment was for training with a good instructor?

Alfredo Medina _________________________________________________________________ ______
Licensed Architect (Florida) | Freelance Instructor | Autodesk Expert Elite (on Revit) | Profile on Linkedin
Message 3 of 5

Hello Alfredo,

I attended a 3 day group class run by an authorised autodesk training centre.

I was told that the best training is one on one, in my office, working on a real project.  I must admit that I have never followed through because in the real world there are numerous interuptions to a regular work day.  Nonetheless, I'll try to organise something.

Good advice.