Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Revit file from Autodesk Seek

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
rimutaka
1136 Views, 6 Replies

Revit file from Autodesk Seek

Hi,

I am a newbie to Revit.

I found a Revit family file from Autodesk Seek and I don't know how to use / insert it to my existing drawing.

Can someone explain to me?

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
L.Maas
in reply to: rimutaka

In Autodesk Seek download the Revit family (with extension .rfa) to a local folder on your computer.

In Revit open your project. Go to the tab "Insert", then button "Load Family".

Go to the folder where you downloaded the family, select it and open the family.

Then you can find that family in the project browser.

Louis

EESignature

Please mention Revit version, especially when uploading Revit files.

Message 3 of 7
rimutaka
in reply to: L.Maas

Hi,

Thanks.

This file is located under folder "Generic Models". Is it possible to move this file to another folder?

Thanks

Message 4 of 7
L.Maas

I am not sure what you mean.

If you mean that the family/file is located somewhere in a folder on your harddrive. In that case location is not relevant. As soon as you load a family in your project it will be part of that project file.

However if you mean in the project browser of your project, then it is entirely different. All families insde revit belong to a certain category. You will have to edit that family to get it to belong to a different category. However certain categories have certain properties so you would need to understand family design and family behaviour before attempting this kind of work.

I would like to advise to first become more familiar with projects and placing/using families before attempting to start designing and modifying those families.

Louis

EESignature