Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
kwikscopeguy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 6 (1,096 Views)

Revit doesn't use my gpu for rendering at all

1096 Views, 5 Replies
02-07-2013 02:27 AM

I have an intel 3570k cpu and an nvidia gtx 670 gpu, and it only uses my gpu for the 3d clview, but when it renders photos, it only uses my cpu, which makes rendering take so much longer. Is there any way around this?

i5 3570k@4.4ghz gtx 670, 8gb ddr3 1600mhz
*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 2 of 6 (1,086 Views)

Re: Revit doesn't use my gpu for rendering at all

02-07-2013 05:40 AM in reply to: kwikscopeguy

Revit uses a version of the Mental Ray render engine, which only uses the CPU for rendering.

This is because it is a raytrace rendering app.

 

3dsMax has the ability to use the GPU when you render with I-Ray.

 

Revit does not have this ability.

 

 

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,198
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 6 (1,078 Views)

Re: Revit doesn't use my gpu for rendering at all

02-07-2013 06:41 AM in reply to: ccollins

you could also use the cloud rendering option

Contributor
kwikscopeguy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 4 of 6 (1,073 Views)

Re: Revit doesn't use my gpu for rendering at all

02-07-2013 06:48 AM in reply to: kwikscopeguy
I theare any way I could use a different engine for rendering, because I don't really lik the cloud rendering options
i5 3570k@4.4ghz gtx 670, 8gb ddr3 1600mhz
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,198
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 5 of 6 (1,071 Views)

Re: Revit doesn't use my gpu for rendering at all

02-07-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: kwikscopeguy

not really without a third party add in if there are any for rendering in revit

Contributor
kwikscopeguy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 6 of 6 (1,058 Views)

Re: Revit doesn't use my gpu for rendering at all

02-07-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I'll have to look around for one

i5 3570k@4.4ghz gtx 670, 8gb ddr3 1600mhz

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube