Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 11 of 23 (642 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-16-2013 02:09 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I've attached a PDF detail at 1 1/2" = 1'-0" that will hopefully help illustrate my issues. Pleae forgive the lack of detail and graphics. This is still in progress, and I'm still learning to detail in Revit. 

 

This shows that Revit will not dimension to the intersection of rafter and stud wall- which is the top of wall plate. That point is 9'-0" above the level dimensioned to. The roof is offset at 9'-0" from the level and is located correctly. 

 

This is where I have to unjoin the wall, place the dimension to the rafter-stud wall intersection, and then rejoin to the wall to the other elements. 

 

Thanks very much for taking the time to have a look at this. mpp

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 380
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 12 of 23 (634 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-16-2013 02:28 PM in reply to: mpukas

If you zoom into that intersection, hover over that point, and hit tab, does the selection point change?

 



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 13 of 23 (628 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-16-2013 02:40 PM in reply to: Chris.Aquino
No the selection point does not change. If I zoom in an d click on that point, Revit will exit the command.
Distinguished Contributor
awes
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 14 of 23 (607 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-17-2013 12:01 AM in reply to: mpukas

You're right. I'm not either able to dimension to that intersection after attaching the wall to the roof (rvt 2014).

 

I have a workaround though; detach the wall, draw a ref.plane through the intersection point, strech the top of the wall to the ref.plane level, remove ref.plane, dimension to top of wall, attach wall to roof. Well, I don't actually know to what the dim.line is connected to.

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 809
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 15 of 23 (584 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-18-2013 10:20 AM in reply to: mpukas

I've experience something similar, in that when two overlapping walls that run parallel to one another are joined, the faces that lie within the overlapping area can't be dimensioned to or even aligned to.  It's as if they cease to exist, and I imagine something similar is happening here, since you mention that you can't dimension to the point you want until you unjoin the two objects.  I'm not sure why Revit stops recognizing faces/intersections for joined objects, but I can confirm the issue.

 

I'd recommend submitting it to product support.  Perhaps it will be addressed in a release update or a future version.  For the time being, you'll have to continue unjoining, then dimensioning, then rejoining.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 16 of 23 (560 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-19-2013 09:21 AM in reply to: rosskirby

Thanks for the response guys. It's releiving to know it's not jsut me and something I did in my building model, and it's also frsutrating to have to do yet ANOTHER work aorund in Revit. 

 

How do I submit this to product support? Does Autodesk even bother to respond to issues like this? 

 

Cheers! mpp

Distinguished Contributor
cvandevere
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-02-2006
Message 17 of 23 (554 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-19-2013 09:33 AM in reply to: mpukas

One work around that I use when I can't dimension to a particular point is to add a reference plane and dimension to that. You may have to adjust the length of the dimension leader/line.  The reference planes don't print.

CDV
Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 18 of 23 (503 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-23-2013 02:50 PM in reply to: cvandevere

Furthermore, I've discovered that when trying to detail a wall section, not only will Revit not dimension to the intersection of wall and rafter, it will not snap to that point at all. I can't draw a line from that intersection, or place a detail componenet snapped to that point. 

 

Revit seems to ingore that point all together. 

 

The work arounds are to either: 1) set two reference planes - one for the top of plate from top of plywood, and the other for the inside face of stud; or 2) unjoin the wall, drawn the lines/place components, and then re-join the wall to all other elements. 

 

:catmad:

 

 

Employee
davissc
Posts: 291
Registered: ‎08-08-2007
Message 19 of 23 (477 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-24-2013 07:25 PM in reply to: mpukas

roof cut.pngI don't want to tell you how you should do your detail, but looking at the PDF you attached:  wouldn't the top of the wall stop at a double top plate, which would be flat (not sloped as the top of the wall in the PDF is) and then the rafter would be bird-mouth cut to sit on top of the top plate?  If thats the case, then the dimension you are trying to draw would be easy, as it would dimension to the flat part of the top of the wall. I've never seen a framing condition with the sloped topped wall you are showing.



Scott D Davis
AEC Technical Specialist
North American Sales
Autodesk, Inc.

Want Revit Content? Go to http://seek.autodesk.com !

Mentor
MKEllis
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 20 of 23 (460 Views)

Re: Revit dimensions suck

08-25-2013 02:25 AM in reply to: davissc

Scott, that's what I thought looking at this specific example.

 

There is, however, still a problem when trying to dimension to an angle as shown in the eg. here. I've come across it a few times and have had to resort to ref planes to create the intersection to which i can place a dimension. It's a work around, but frustrating as it feels as though the snaps should be able to pick up intersections within wall/roof assemblies.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube