Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
tonkata
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Message 1 of 7 (3,577 Views)

Revit & Windows 8.1

3577 Views, 6 Replies
10-28-2013 01:43 PM
Is anyone successfully running Revit 2014 on Windows 8.1 or 8.1 Pro, on 15" Retnia MacBook Pro running Bootcamp?

I attempted installing it a few days ago, but firstly kept getting some crazy "Windows Communication Error", and after i maraculously got it loaded and ran Revit, the bottom right menu would flicker lick crazy.

I was totally dumbfounded by the whole experience!
New Member
zgordon643
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Message 2 of 7 (3,202 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

11-08-2013 03:31 PM in reply to: tonkata

I just downloaded VM fusion which is another parallel and I loaded windows 8.1 on my Mac 15" and when I went to download revit I am getting a connection timeout to the Autodesk download loaction.

 

Any help is appreciated I need to get this up and running I have Class deadlines to meet this week.

Distinguished Contributor
tonkata
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Message 3 of 7 (3,137 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

11-10-2013 05:07 AM in reply to: zgordon643

Same problem here zgordon643, I ended up just going back to Windows 7 :smileywink:

Active Member
cstoray
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
Message 4 of 7 (3,126 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

11-10-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: tonkata

This has to be some sort of driver issue. I'm running it on Windows 8.1, but not with that hardware. And I don't imagine Apple is too worried about edge cases like ours to fix whatever is going on with those drivers and their hardware.

New Member
zgordon643
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-08-2013
Message 5 of 7 (3,024 Views)

Re: Revit

11-12-2013 01:50 PM in reply to: cstoray
It is not a driver problem as a student I get a revit version one behind the professional version which is now up to version 13 but the student edition must be version 12 which came out before the windows 8.1 update
New Member
sam.deroo.t5125
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2013
Message 6 of 7 (2,434 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

12-03-2013 12:42 AM in reply to: tonkata

Apparently there is hope. If you shut down your weak video card (Intel hd 4000) the program seems to start up as normal, because of the fact that it can only work on the good video card. Don't ask me why it does this, my teacher came with this solution. 

The negative side is, that your computer will use more energy, so when you're done using your program you should turn the weak card back on so the pc can choose again by itself.

New Member
msknutson1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-27-2014
Message 7 of 7 (294 Views)

Re: Revit & Windows 8.1

05-28-2014 09:06 AM in reply to: sam.deroo.t5125

How do I shut down my weak video card?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube