Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
nmysorewala
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-18-2007
Message 1 of 25 (2,187 Views)

Revit Server problems with large files

2187 Views, 24 Replies
01-31-2011 08:16 AM

Revit Server problems with large files

We have setup server between offices and it works great for small files, but when I am trying to save large files I get the error "The Revit server you are trying to access is not
available due to a server or network failure. If you
have models from the Revit server open, save any
changes locally and contact your administrator.

Also if we try to lock the folder it says cannot lock folders.
not sure what the couse of this is.

BIMologist
Employee
ryan.duell
Posts: 734
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 25 (2,151 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

02-01-2011 01:24 PM in reply to: nmysorewala

Do you know if you have any bandwidth or file size restrictions?  I know it is technically possible to restrict packet size or prioritize which packets get priority over the network [such as Outlook traffic, Revit traffic, etc] but you should verify this with your IT department if possible.

 

I would verify the steps in the post below to see if everything else appears normal:

 

http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/01/10-revit-server-troubleshooting-next-steps.html

 

Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Contributor
madeforworship
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
Message 3 of 25 (1,731 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

12-07-2011 02:53 PM in reply to: nmysorewala

I am having a similiar problem.  Here is what I can do:

 

1) I am able to download a large file as a local file from a remote central server, but I get two error dialogue boxes in the process ("This operatoin could not be completed because of a problem in the Revit server network.  Please try again.")

2) I am able to create a new central file on a central server if the file is small (I know 60+MB files aren't working, but haven't actually tested where the limit is).

3) I am able to modify a downloaded local file, and save the file back to the central server (I can then redownload the file from the central server and see my chages, but I get the same erros again (see item 1 above).

 

I am at a loss.  I have checked permissions and they all seem ok.  w3wp.exe is running with username "Network Service".  I checked the permissions of that username as well and it seems full control as well.

 

Again, I am able to save small files, just not big files, and I don't understand why I would get the error dialogue boxes...

 

Please help!

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 4 of 25 (1,711 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

12-09-2011 08:23 AM in reply to: nmysorewala

Perhaps it is a RAM / memory problem with the physical server(s) ? Check the specs on them.

I'm assuming they are all WinServ 2008 R2 64 bit.

 

Latency/bandwidth could also create a bottleneck which won't allow the Synch to execute.

 

How is your WAN configured? Firewalls and VPN tunnels? MPLS?

 

cheers

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Active Member
lksvdd
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 5 of 25 (1,600 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

01-25-2012 02:28 AM in reply to: nmysorewala

Hello,

 

The last post in this threat is quit old, that's suggests that al the problems with big files and Revit Server are solved.

BUT...

We, a middle size architecture company in the Netherlands, still have this problem, we are running the latest versions ofRevit sever, including the latest service pack and an bug fix.

We have an "Revit Local Server (RLS)" AND a "Revit Central Server (RCS)" within our own LAN, the files files of the partners are smaller, so they work fine, all our other project work fine, but our biggest Revit Project (file size approx 250MB) can't be saved to the Revit Server.

It does not matter if I connect to RLS or directly to RCS, both in our own LAN.

 

WHO KNOWS A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM?

 

Thanks in advance..!!

 

Chris hanschen

Cad Manager at LKSVDD architecten BV, Hengelo, the Netherlands

 

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 6 of 25 (1,580 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

01-25-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: nmysorewala

Try using CMD ipconfig /flushdns and renew to refresh the adapter settings.

 

The error message from your 1st post indicates a network connection problem; I doubt if the file size is the issue?

 

But, just to be sure:

 

how much RAM do you have on the workstations and server(s)?

 

cheers

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Active Member
lksvdd
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 7 of 25 (1,569 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

01-25-2012 11:27 PM in reply to: ccollins

yesterday, we have upgraded our server from 4GB to 8GB and from 1 to 2 processors.

We did a test and the results indicated a short of memory, but the problem still remains....

 

I will try your suggestion with "/flushdns", but I don't think it will help because the a machine reboot should do the same, right?

 

"I doubt if the file size is the issue?" -> all our smaller projects work fine, even from the same workstation

 

Thanks for your reply.

 

Chris Hanschen

LKSVDD architecten, Hengelo, The Netherlands

Active Member
lksvdd
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 8 of 25 (1,568 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

01-25-2012 11:48 PM in reply to: lksvdd

I made a screendump of the message, this message appears after the progressbar get's to 100%

 

I am connected directly to my Revit Central Server in our own LAN.

 

PLEASE HELP ME OUT......

 

Chris Hanschen

LKSVDD architecten BV, Hengelo, The Netherlands

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 9 of 25 (1,560 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

01-26-2012 05:14 AM in reply to: lksvdd

lksvdd wrote:

yesterday, we have upgraded our server from 4GB to 8GB and from 1 to 2 processors.

...

Your server had 4 GB of RAM yesterday!? And you "upgraded" it to 8? and you are surprised that it still does not work?

Just my laptop has 8 GB. Therefore a server must have at least 12, or 16, or more!. No wonder you are having problems.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
lksvdd
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 10 of 25 (1,547 Views)

Re: Revit Server problems with large files

01-26-2012 06:58 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

This is a virtual server for Revit Server only, no other programs or processes (non windows) run on this machine.

But, you have a point, so we will try again with more GB..!!

 

to be continued.....

 

Chris Hanschen

LKSVDD Architecten BV, Hengelo, The Netherlands

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube