Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
geth3
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-09-2012
Message 1 of 7 (1,250 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit Roof Design

1250 Views, 6 Replies
01-27-2013 12:52 PM

Hello,

 

I'm designing an eco efficent house for my A-Level Design and Technology project, I'm trying to design the roof you can see in my sketch attatchment (I hope it's clear enough) but I can't insert the column on the front coming down from the roof. If anyone can tell me how it can be done, it doesn't need to be perfect, the model is only used for visual purposes so the column doesn't have to be structural o'r anything. The column is curved coming from the roof and gets narrower towards the bottom.

 

I've tried sketching a component (model in place) in Revit but can't seem to get the model lines in the right plane, I've attatched a picture of the Revit model where I need the column (the back wall is also part of the roof).

 

I'd be greatfull for any help! Thanks.

 

Active Contributor
kfielding
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 2 of 7 (1,196 Views)

Re: Revit Roof Design

01-28-2013 02:25 AM in reply to: geth3

Effectively what I think you are trying to achieve is the roof continuing down to the floor to support itself.

 

I would suggest using a mass, or in-place mass to make the roof shape, and use Roof by Face tool to form the room.  I think creating the mass shape like the roof would be the most difficult part. 

 

Although I've attached my attempt.  It took me about 20 minutes.

 

The mass was created with a series of voids at different angles.

 

Good luck with your project.

 

K

Kevin Fielding
BIM Manager, AEW Architects
Manchester, UK

If my post solves your issue, please accept this as a solution and give me a thumbs up!
Member
geth3
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-09-2012
Message 3 of 7 (1,143 Views)

Re: Revit Roof Design

01-28-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: kfielding

Hello,

 

Thanks for taking your time to help. Your solution is perfect! I'm so close to completing the roof but for some reason it doesn't let me make (model by face) the curved part of the mass into the roof, only the top and back. Also for some reason I can only use "Faces at bottom of the roof" in the properties bar to make a roof out of the back part even though It worked the first time I did it. How did you model the curved face to make it into the roof? It lets me make it into a wall but not a roof.

 

To get the void for the curve I had two curved lines on both walls then offset those so they went beyond the mass.

I've attatched print screens of the roof not working and how the curve is with a wall.

 

Thanks once again.

Active Contributor
kfielding
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 4 of 7 (1,099 Views)

Re: Revit Roof Design

01-29-2013 01:21 AM in reply to: geth3

Attached is the mass for you to look at.  I've deconstructed it in staged so you can see how it was constructed.  

 

Also, I used splines instead of arcs, as they allow more control of the curves.

 

K

Kevin Fielding
BIM Manager, AEW Architects
Manchester, UK

If my post solves your issue, please accept this as a solution and give me a thumbs up!
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 5 of 7 (1,074 Views)

Re: Revit Roof Design

01-29-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: kfielding

Why did the roof become flat? Wasn't the roof curve on the top, in the sketch?

Here's a different solution:

 

1-29-2013 11-32-13 AM.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Member
geth3
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-09-2012
Message 6 of 7 (1,048 Views)

Re: Revit Roof Design

01-29-2013 12:05 PM in reply to: kfielding

I see how you did it now! I was doing it differently but it works perfectly now. 

 

Thank you for your help.

Member
geth3
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-09-2012
Message 7 of 7 (1,045 Views)

Re: Revit Roof Design

01-29-2013 12:08 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Yes the roof is still curved but the print screen was just a quick model I made. Thanks for your solution aswell!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube