Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 1 of 7 (3,621 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit Architecture 2013 Rendering Issue: Render doesn't show up

3621 Views, 6 Replies
07-04-2012 11:00 PM

Hello, I am having a problem where every time I try to render an image in Revit Architecture 2013, the image only shows up black. All of the main graphics and rendering options are still set to their installation defaults, and I have tried reinstalling the program, but nothing has worked. I've included an attachment of what comes up whenever I try to render an image, and what I am trying to render. Does anyone know how I can fix this?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 2 of 7 (3,608 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2013 Rendering Issue: Render doesn't show up

07-05-2012 01:24 AM in reply to: ryanbritz

Hi Ryan, welcome to this Revit forum.

 

The reason it's dark in that bathroom is because there is

no light on in there.

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,332
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 3 of 7 (3,576 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2013 Rendering Issue: Render doesn't show up

07-05-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: ryanbritz

Vector is right - you can see that the dialog box shows there are no artificial lights and no daylight portals. 

So there is no light source to light up the area.

Put some lights/windows and you should be able to see something - other then the dark!

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 4 of 7 (3,549 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2013 Rendering Issue: Render doesn't show up

07-05-2012 05:23 PM in reply to: LisaDrago

Thanks Vector and Lisa, but there's only one problem to that theory... right now I've been rendering the building with no roof or ceiling, and that is how it's turning out. :smileytongue:
The white in the top corner of the screen is not ceiling, that's blank white "oblivion" model space. And secondly, the frame on the far wall actually is a window. The program used to render fine a little while ago the last time I tried, but I had to update my Graphics driver a bit ago because apparently it wasn't up to date and was causing the 3D model views to crash all the time. Now I tried to render again last night, but have run into this problem. I don't really think it's the driver's fault, because after all, why would having the graphics updated make the renders stop working? That just seems kind of backwards to me, haha. Do you guys have any other ideas that might explain it, unless it is in fact the graphics driver?

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,332
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 5 of 7 (3,536 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2013 Rendering Issue: Render doesn't show up

07-05-2012 06:11 PM in reply to: ryanbritz

Where is the sun placement? What are your sun setting at? Do  you have the right location, right date and time?

Those will also make a difference. I have added 2 images - one at noon and the other at midnight - you can see the shadow difference.

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2012
Message 6 of 7 (3,521 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2013 Rendering Issue: Render doesn't show up

07-05-2012 09:28 PM in reply to: LisaDrago

Oh my..... I feel really stupid right now, I found out what was wrong.... it seems I somehow managed to move the camera sometime in between my renders so that it was INSIDE the door of the bathroom, but I was still able to see into the bathroom itself perfectly fine in model space. The black screen I was seeing was Revit rendering the inside of the door. xD
Well, anyways, thanks for taking the time to try and help me out with this, I really appreciate it! :smileytongue:

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-11-2012
Message 7 of 7 (2,722 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2013 Rendering Issue: Render doesn't show up

11-11-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: ryanbritz

Thanks a ton. I am learning revit and was trying to render my first project and was struggling with this black image for over a week. Replacing the camera solve it !!!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube