Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
zach_cinco
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-10-2013
Message 1 of 11 (5,776 Views)

Revit 2013 windows 8

5776 Views, 10 Replies
02-13-2013 05:18 AM

I have been having an issue with my revit 2013 program where when I create complex contours for a site plan the entire revit program will close itself once I click 'the big green tick'. Is there a way of fixing this? I have downloaded the revit 2013 extensions with no prevail.
I am running a windows 8 laptop with a decent graphics card and ram so I think it comes down to the program not the computer performance.
In addition upon opening the revit 2013 program an icon comes up saying 'Default Family Template File Invalid' 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,156
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 11 (5,772 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

02-13-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: zach_cinco

search for windows 8 on here and you will see other problems with it

its not a compatible OS for revit: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14026408&linkID=9243099

Active Contributor
M-Town_Drafter
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
Message 3 of 11 (5,753 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

02-13-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Interesting that they also dropped Vista as a supported operating system for Revit 2013.

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 4 of 11 (5,721 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

02-14-2013 05:35 AM in reply to: zach_cinco

If you install the update release for Revit 2013 the problem should be resolved.  it is realted to the fact Windows 8 needs .NET 4.5 to run and the ribbon implementation in Revit 2013 is incompatible with .NET 4.5.  The update release for Revit 2013 will resolve the issue.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Distinguished Mentor
Caddman13
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎07-13-2004
Message 5 of 11 (5,701 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

02-14-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: DarrenP

DarrenP wrote:

search for windows 8 on here and you will see other problems with it

its not a compatible OS for revit: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14026408&linkID=9243099


It works fine.  Not sure about the supported part but Update 2 and Revit 2013 run perfectly on Windows 8. Update 2 is the key to having installed to get the full performance out or Revit 2013.

New Member
dorothjc
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 6 of 11 (5,429 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

03-02-2013 09:57 AM in reply to: loboarch

Is there such an update for Revit Structures 2012?  If so, where can I download it from.  If not, should I just install Revit 2013?  Would there be any compatibility issues with a Revit 2012 Revit Structures file if I made edits to it from Revit 2013? Thanks

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 7 of 11 (5,351 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

03-04-2013 05:32 AM in reply to: dorothjc

There is not currently an update for 2012 versions of Revit for this issue.  Updating to 2013 Update release 2 will solve the problem.  If updating to 2013 is an option that would be my suggestion.  if you can't update your Revit version you need to roll back .NET to a previous version.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Contributor
Eduardo2012
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-18-2012
Message 8 of 11 (4,678 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

04-15-2013 03:19 PM in reply to: zach_cinco

YES YES YES Revit´s update 2 makes it work in Windows 8!!!!!!

I bought this computer with W8 preinstalled and had the same ribbon problems. I had also another issue: the cursor pre-selection feature was not working at all.

Searching for the solution, every site talked about the .NET 4.5 thing and I just never got a clue on how to revert to .NET 4.0 without screwing up other Win8 software.

Only after reading this post I decided to give the Update 2 a go, and it just did the job allright!!!!

Oh, by the way. The cursor pre-selection fault was solved by a separate procedure, here's how:

Windows8-Control Panel-Software-Run software made for earlier Windows versions.

There you choose Revit's compatibility with your previous windows version. I did this one first, and later the Autodesk update.

I was even depressed thinking I needed to give the computer back due to "revit incompatibility"

Member
emmanuel
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2011
Message 9 of 11 (3,638 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

06-21-2013 08:44 PM in reply to: loboarch

Thank you so much for posting this.  I really needed to install Revit 2012 on windows 8 since I had just reformatted my laptop and had a bunch of other programs installed...and I have client contracts that require files to be delivered in Revit 2012.  Anyways, I had tried installed 2013 and 2014 and they all failed.  I was ready to reformat the darn thing until I run into your post...it worked very well, I have Revit 2012 up and running, haven't run into any issues, hopefully it will stay that way.

Member
emmanuel
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2011
Message 10 of 11 (3,636 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 windows 8

06-21-2013 08:45 PM in reply to: emmanuel

BTW, the solution that worked for me was to enable .NET Framework 3.5 in windows 8

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube