Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 1 of 10 (2,152 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

2152 Views, 9 Replies
05-28-2013 12:11 PM

I’ve installed Revit 2014, but mainly using 2013. When I installed 2014, the button on the 2013 ribbon started acting funny.

 

When I select an element, a wall for instance, I don’t get the proper buttons under the MODIFY tab showing up. I have to hit the show/hide button on the drop-down menu that controls the visibility of the ribbon & buttons to get the EDIT PROFILE button.

 

And it doesn’t end there; when I get into EDIT PROFILE mode, the proper buttons are not showing up again. Again, I have to do a show/hide with the drop down menu, and then the proper buttons show up and I can edit the wall.

 

If I then select another element, such as a roof, I have to go through the same two-extra-step process to edit the roof.

 

I just re-installed 2013 yesterday because I’ve been having issues with 2013 crashing on a daily basis, and then not opening at all. Yet the same problem still happens. I un-installed 2014, and the problem still happens. After I un-installed 2014, I did a repair on 2013, and the problem still persists.

 

I spoke to my Tech Support, CAD-1, this morning and they told me it’s possibly an issue with 2014 over writing some .NETFRAMEWORK files for 2013 (or something like that). They saw the problem on my system but couldn’t resolve the issue.

 

I’ve called Autodesk Tech Support, and of course the made a ticket and “will get back to me.” (I’ve not had much luck w/ Autodesk Tech Support in the past, and have a bad taste in my mouth because of it)

 

This is very annoying and time consuming to have to work around this problem.

 

Is Autodesk aware of this problem? Has anyone else encountered this? Is there a hot-fix?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 10 (2,144 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 12:25 PM in reply to: mpukas

when you installed 2014 it puts on .net 4.5 which does cause issues with previous versions of revit

install the latest update for revit 2013

Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 3 of 10 (2,137 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 12:39 PM in reply to: DarrenP

How do I find the latest update? Subscription Center? Or can I do it thru Revit?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 10 (2,134 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 12:42 PM in reply to: mpukas

Update 2 is now available for Revit 2013 products, and can be accessed at the following locations:

Autodesk Revit Architecture 2013 UR2

Autodesk Revit Structure 2013 UR2

Autodesk Revit MEP 2013 UR2

The update for Autodesk Revit 2013:

Autodesk Revit 2013 UR2

Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 5 of 10 (2,125 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 12:55 PM in reply to: DarrenP

Thank you so much - I couldn't have found that. I assumed updates and such would be in Subscription Center.

 

Should I install 32 or 64? I'm running a stand alone license on Windows 7 64-bit. The original 2013 installation is from a thumb drive, and I wasn't given an option for a bit version.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 10 (2,116 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 01:10 PM in reply to: mpukas

mpukas wrote:

 

Should I install 32 or 64? I'm running a stand alone license on Windows 7 64-bit. The original 2013 installation is from a thumb drive, and I wasn't given an option for a bit version.



it shouldn't give you an option if you installed from the usb stick it auto detects what operating system your running

since your running windows 64 bit it installs the 64 bit versions of the software

Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 7 of 10 (2,113 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 01:11 PM in reply to: DarrenP

I can't install the update(s) - I get a dialogue box that states "The Update Release could not be installed because the expected Autodesk product could not be located..."

 

I've tried both verions for update 1 & 2.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 10 (2,108 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: mpukas

are you downloading/installing the correct update

there are 4 different revit products

Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 9 of 10 (2,099 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: DarrenP

I downloaded both 32 and 64 but versions for update 1 & 2.

 

None of them will install - I get the sme message each time.

 

I've successfully downloaded and installed revit extensions and timber roof frame previously.

Valued Contributor
mpukas
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
Message 10 of 10 (2,084 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 ribbon button problems vs 2014 installation

05-28-2013 01:50 PM in reply to: mpukas

I got the update to install - I was using the Architecture version. If I use the Revit 2013 version, it worked.

 

The Update 2 fixed the ribbon issues.

 

Thanks again for you help!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube