Revit Architecture

Reply
Product Support
barbara.schurig
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 11 of 17 (553 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

05-31-2012 11:38 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Hi,

Thanks for sending your computer specs, the NVIDIA Quadro NVS 420 has currently no certified driver listed for Revit 2013.
You can check the graphic card list on our website, I used W7 64-bit and NVIDIA for this search:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?siteID=123112&id=18844534&results=1&stype=graphic&produ...

As Ross Kirby already mentioned, please try out the latest driver for your card. If this didn’t help you can also test a beta release of the driver. NVIDIA already did already some changes on their drivers for Revit (http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Revit-Architecture/Revit-2013-Seeing-glass-thru-walls-floors-...).
You can also test to turn off Aero, or disabling hardware acceleration. Additionally, if there is another Windows user available on your system, please check out, if it’s the same behavior there.

As you already posted your request in the forum, there is no need to open up a service ticket. Autodesk Support is participating in this forum and there is no difference for us if it’s a post or a ticket.

Barbara



Barbara Schurig
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 12 of 17 (537 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

06-01-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: barbara.schurig

Thanks for the suggestions Barbara.

 

I already had hardware acceleration disabled.  I tried going to windows classic and updating to the latest driver.  Still didn't resolve the problem.  Don't know that there is any significance to this, but some of the menus display correctly (Architecture, Annotation,View and Manage) the rest are offset.

 

Bottom line is it doesn't really prevent any work from being done.  When you actually open a project, all the menus work as expected.

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 809
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 13 of 17 (532 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

06-01-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Weird.

 

Here's my last suggestion, and it's a bit of a long shot.  Open your task manager and right click on WSCommCntr3.exe and end task.  You may have to try this before opening Revit to get it to work.  I know sometimes Revit hangs at the splash screen, and killing the WSCommCntr3.exe task fixes it, so something with the startup/loading might be affected by the same fix.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 14 of 17 (528 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

06-01-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: rosskirby

Thanks for the suggestion Ross, but I don't have that process running.

Product Support
barbara.schurig
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 15 of 17 (509 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

06-03-2012 11:46 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Hi,

I mentioned it already, but it was might overlooked. How is the ribbon displayed for other Windows user?
And a new question, did you already try to run a repair installation?
Additionally it could be helpful, if you attach one of your latest journal files here. A short one, please no project needs to be loaded.
You will find the journal TXT file at:
C:\Users\<<USERNAME>>\AppData\Local\Autodesk\Revit\Autodesk Revit 2013\Journals

Regards,

Barbara



Barbara Schurig
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 16 of 17 (477 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

06-04-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: barbara.schurig

Barbara,

 

Now that I have created a deployment and installed it on a couple of other computers, it does appear the issue is unique to my machine.  Other computers (a laptop and a desktop) running the same deployment are working fine.

 

Thanks for all your help and suggestions.

Product Support
barbara.schurig
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 17 of 17 (472 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Ribbon Menus misaligned

06-04-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Hi,

There could be 3 reasons, why Revit is behaving differently on your system.
1.) It could be the installation, in that case a repair installation, or a clean installation will help.
2.) But it’s also possible that it`s caused by your current Windows profile.
3.) And last but not least, the system itself for example, .Net Framework, graphic card driver/settings, Windows settings.

The two easy  tests we can do, is performing a repair installation and creating a new user profile. A clean installation I wouldn’t recommend, because it takes some time and the issue we face here is minor, as you can use all palettes as needed, when the project is open.  But for sure it’s your decision and we can run additional tests as well.
Just let me know.

Regards,

Barbara



Barbara Schurig
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube