Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
bruce.sinkey
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-14-2009
Message 1 of 4 (3,117 Views)

Revit 09 How do you cut a hole in the generic 12" floor slab

3117 Views, 3 Replies
03-14-2009 09:22 PM
I am just learning Revit and I can not figure out how to cut a hole in a second floor 12" Generic.
I am also having problems seeing my stairs through the second floor.
*cdv
Message 2 of 4 (3,117 Views)

Re: Revit 09 How do you cut a hole in the generic 12" floor slab

03-15-2009 06:16 AM in reply to: bruce.sinkey

Click on the slab to highlight it, click on edit,
then on the design bar click on lines, then look at your options bar and you
will see that you various options in addtion to just drawing lines, choose
whatever you want draw the desired opening in the slab, click finish and Revit
automatically knows that you have cut something out of the slab. So your opening
shouldd be there.


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
am just learning Revit and I can not figure out how to cut a hole in a second
floor 12" Generic. I am also having problems seeing my stairs through the
second floor.
Distinguished Mentor
Caddman13
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎07-13-2004
Message 3 of 4 (3,117 Views)

Re: Revit 09 How do you cut a hole in the generic 12" floor slab

03-16-2009 07:27 AM in reply to: bruce.sinkey
> {quote:title=bruce.sinkey wrote:}{quote}
> I am just learning Revit and I can not figure out how to cut a hole in a second floor 12" Generic.
> I am also having problems seeing my stairs through the second floor.


You can cut an Opening in the floor slab by going to the Modeling Tab and toward the bottom Pick Opening and by Face. Drawing a Pink line showing the opening size and finish sketch.

You can also, Select the slab, at the top of the drawing window you should see an EDIT button. Click that and then draw lines for the opening.

When you click on the second floor slab you should be able to see the stairs ghosted under it. You then can trace the stairs to create the opening.

Hope this helps.
Distinguished Contributor
CTREVIZO
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎01-13-2006
Message 4 of 4 (3,117 Views)

Re: Revit 09 How do you cut a hole in the generic 12" floor slab

03-17-2009 10:44 AM in reply to: bruce.sinkey
simply go to the Modeling Design Tab; click then on the drop down box select the "Shaft Opening" Tool

refer to the "Recent Files" window then click on tutorials or the help link for more knowledge.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube