Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
lsumrow
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-16-2011
Message 1 of 5 (682 Views)

Rendering Won't Export

682 Views, 4 Replies
04-06-2011 05:32 AM
I've seen some older posts on this, but nothing recent so as I am having this problem now after a long night of rendering, I'll ask and hope for a solution.

Working with Revit Architecture 2011, 32 bit, 4GB RAM, 39 GB free space on my hard drive, 56MB Revit project file. After 8 hours of rendering a 300 dpi, 4585 x 1189 image uncompressed size of 20.8MB, the image will not Save to Project nor Export. I do not get an error message or warning of any kind when I select either option from the Rendering dialog.

I tried Export from the main menu with a .tiff exported at 100% and got a message that the image size was too large. I attempted to do this again reducing the image size, but now the Export to Image option is gray and not available.

My computer performs everything else - as in other programs open and close telling me that the memory buffer is available. Surely with 39GB free on my hard disk there's room to save the file.

Does anyone have a solution?

Thanks!
*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 809
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 2 of 5 (679 Views)

Re: Rendering Won't Export

04-06-2011 06:14 AM in reply to: lsumrow

If you're only running a 32bit OS, then you're probably not making full use of that 4GB of RAM (you might be getting 3GB).  Due to the large size of your rendering, you're probably running out of memory, even if your computer is telling you that you've got plenty of buffer space.  You'll have to either upgrade to a 64bit OS with more memory (8GB should be plenty, but 4GB might work too), or render a smaller image (physically smaller, or at a lower resolution, your choice).

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 3 of 5 (674 Views)

Re: Rendering Won't Export

04-06-2011 06:35 AM in reply to: lsumrow

I replied to your AUGI post as well--

 

same answer as the other reply here; not enough RAM.

 

cheers

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
New Member
lsumrow
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-16-2011
Message 4 of 5 (656 Views)

Re: Rendering Won't Export

04-06-2011 04:11 PM in reply to: ccollins

I wanted to close out this issue with a conclusion and give out a plug to those who were so helpful in responding and assisting with this issue.

The reason for the problem is just as Cliff and others surmised. My 32 bit machine has 4GB of memory, but only 2GB can be naturally allocated to one process. So, the guys at DCCADD, specifically Aaron, pointed me to a few hints to get an extra 1GB out of my machine. His suggestion is here:

Suggest customer enable 3GB switch per this document: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8018966&linkID=9243099. Also, I'd recommend setting your page file (per the link above) to an inital size of 4096MB and a maximum size of 8192MB.

All in all, not the result I wanted, but it's great to have a community and reseller that's on the ball. Kudos to everyone for their input.

Cheers,
Jeff

New Member
caralinaj
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
Message 5 of 5 (556 Views)

Re: Rendering Won't Export

05-03-2011 11:18 AM in reply to: lsumrow

I just had this problem. It would act like it was saving but the files would never appear. Very frustrating after a ten hour render. I took screenshots of it to make sure I had something. Then last ditch effort I closed the render dialog box and saved the project. Then before doing anything else, I opened the render dialog box again and clicked show render and tried to save/export again. And guess what? It worked!!! I have am not guaranteeing this will work every time or at all but It worked for me! 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube