Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
chad2472
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
Message 1 of 3 (295 Views)

Rail Structure profile coarse/medium/fine detail level problem

295 Views, 2 Replies
04-25-2012 10:57 AM

Hi Everyone.


I am trying to create a custom railing family that displays different in the coarse detail level than it does in medium or fine.


What I am doing is I have to have a simple line style for the handrails when in fine, and a complex style in medium or coarse.

So I was able to do this just fine with the rail Balusters. I inserted a narrow "Simple" model objects for the fine detail and fully details model objects for medium and fine.  This worked great.


The issue I am having is with the rail structure profile. The horizonatl rail is round. But I want a diameter of 1mm for fine and a diameter or 48mm for medium and fine.  If I place two seperate circles and assign them the "Visibility/Graphics Override" the family brakes and won't let me select the family in the "Rail Structure" of the family type properties.


Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Chad

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 3 (267 Views)

Re: Rail Structure profile coarse/medium/fine detail level problem

04-28-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: chad2472

I think the reason is because balusters are 3D, while rails work with profiles, which are 2D, and if you put 2 circles in a profile, Revit will issue an error, saying that "Rail profile must have one closed loop".

 

But, just curious, why do you want to have a round rail that is 1mm in diameter? That is a big difference from 48 mm. You might not even be able to see it on the screen, or to build it in reality.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
chad2472
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
Message 3 of 3 (250 Views)

Re: Rail Structure profile coarse/medium/fine detail level problem

04-30-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Hi, thanks for the responce. We are just switching over to 3D from 2D and the standard was to show centerlines for the handrails.  So I have setup my handrails with 1mm dia to reproduce the centerline look. But I was hoping to have the option to show the true 48mm rails in the fine detail view.  I don't suppose there is a way to have the dia of the circle change according to the detail level is there?

Thanks Chad

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube