Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
cbulow
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Message 1 of 4 (190 Views)
Accepted Solution

Pipe Accessory detail component not showing

190 Views, 3 Replies
02-22-2014 06:29 PM

I am trying to create a ball valve that looks like the following:

Screen.PNG

 

To get the filled in portion, I created a detail family with a fill.  All appears to be well, until I load the family into a project.  Then the detail dissappears.  The lines remain, but the filled ball is gone.  This happens when I am looking from the floor plan view.

 

If I look at the valve from an elevation, rotating it to see it properly, the filled ball is back.

 

If I change the family type from Pipe Accessoies to something else, for example, Duct Accessories, the filled ball appears as it should.

 

Is there a reason that Pipe Fittings and Pipe Accessories do not show detail components in plan views?

 

I'm using Revit 2014 and I've attached my valve family.

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 2 of 4 (141 Views)

Re: Pipe Accessory detail component not showing

02-24-2014 12:02 PM in reply to: cbulow
After some testing, the family displays as expected in our test files.

Please reply with a small sample project file showing the issue.


Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Member
cbulow
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Message 3 of 4 (129 Views)

Re: Pipe Accessory detail component not showing

02-24-2014 01:47 PM in reply to: Chris.Aquino

Thanks for taking a look at this.  I've attached a small file.  The frustrating thing is the check valve assembly which shows up perfectly fine in project, and my ball valve still is not showing properly here.

 

I don't know how to get the file less than 5.2 MB, so I've inserted a Dropbox link.  Ball Valve

Member
cbulow
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Message 4 of 4 (104 Views)

Re: Pipe Accessory detail component not showing

02-26-2014 06:03 AM in reply to: cbulow

I’m not sure what the problem was – I never did get the family to work but I found that if I created a new family by starting from scratch, I could get the results I wanted.  When I was making the original family, I started with a family created by someone else in an earlier version of Revit.  I’m not sure if that was the problem, but I’m getting what I want now. :smileyfrustrated:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube