Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ChuckEdwards
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 1 of 8 (410 Views)
Accepted Solution

Phasing problem

410 Views, 7 Replies
10-13-2013 01:32 PM

I'm finding a bizzare problem with phasing, could someone suggest where I'm going wrong.

 

I have three phases set up, and also design options. The phases I have set as Existing, Demolition, and New, and the design options can either be Existing which is set to none or demolished, or New which is simply option 1 (there may well be future design options to consider).

 

In my ground plan, I have for phase settings the existing on, and demolished on, I also have the Visibility/Graphics Overrides set so the existing phase option is shown. For some reason though nothing shows up, only the model section lines? The only way I can see anything is if I set the phase filter to show New, though if I do that, it shows the demolished, when the demolished is turned off?

 

Phasing filters seem to be set up correctly, see attached.

 

I have also found that where I have a view set to be New Phase, but using the same phasing filter Existing only, I actually see everything, here it seems to work correctly?

Active Contributor
jkarben
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 2 of 8 (373 Views)

Re: Phasing problem

10-14-2013 06:20 AM in reply to: ChuckEdwards

1. You don't need a demolition phase. Demolitions is the first step of the given phase. Not a separate phase. So for your example you only need an Existing phase and a New Phase.

 

2. Set your Phase Filters back to the out of box settings (see attached).

 

3. Make sure elements are assigned the correct phase. You can draw existing items in a view with it's phase set to existing or select the element and change the phase created in it's properties.

 

4. For a demolition view that shows existing and demo set the view's phase to New Construction and the Phase Filter to Show Previous + Demo

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,166
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 8 (365 Views)

Re: Phasing problem

10-14-2013 06:50 AM in reply to: ChuckEdwards

When settings up initial Views for an existing building, I recommend creating three Views per floor: Existing, Demo, and New, as described below.

 

View Phase Phase Filter Purpose
Existing Existing Show Complete Place/create all of the EXISTING elements here.
Demo New Construction Show Previous + Demo Designate the appropriate existing elements as DEMOLISHED.
New New Construction Show Previous + New Place/create all of the NEW elements here.
Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
ChuckEdwards
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 4 of 8 (353 Views)

Re: Phasing problem

10-14-2013 08:38 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thanks, I think I could do with an explanation of how the phases interact with Phase filters, as it is pretty obvious that they do.

 

To see the existing phase for example, with everything in solid, I have had to create a Phase filter as the attached image, and set the phase to be Demolished.

 

If I have the current phase as Existing however, with the same phase filter, I see nothing.

 

So what eactly is going on...?

 

I'd like to understand this better, I'm going to be training my office up at some point and need to get to grips with it first.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,166
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 8 (315 Views)

Re: Phasing problem

10-15-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: ChuckEdwards

The first concept to realize is the View's Phase. This defines the "current" point in time in which you are seeing the Project and only the elements that exist according to that time frame will be visible. For instance, if you set the current Phase to "Existing", you will only be able to see the existing elements regardless of what View Filter you may choose since the new elements don't exist yet.

 

Now, each element has a "Phase Created" and "Phase Demolished" setting which defines it existence in time. Say you are tearing out a wall and building a new wall in another location. You would select the existing wall and under Properties, set "Phase Demolished" to New Construction. This may seem deceptive at first, the the "New Construction" Phase does not mean "New Work Only". It represents ALL of the work being done for this project, including demo.

 

The Phase Filters control the display of the elements according to their Phase Created and Demolished parameters, so if a View is set to the New Construction Phase with the Phase Filter "Show Previous + New", then Revit will display all Existing to remain and New elements in this phase of the Project.

 

 


ChuckEdwards wrote:

"To see the existing phase for example, with everything in solid, I have had to create a Phase filter as the attached image, and set the phase to be Demolished."


This is not a good practice; the reason being that when you create a new model element in Revit, it automatically assumes the View's Current Phase as its Phase Created value. Meaning that if you were to create your existing walls in this View, they would default as new. Set the View's Phase to "Existing" and set the Phase Filter to "Show All" or "Show Complete". It doesn't matter which.

 

 


ChuckEdwards wrote:

"If I have the current phase as Existing however, with the same phase filter, I see nothing.

So what eactly is going on...?"


The reason you are not seeing anything is because your custom Phase Filter hides New Elements. Since the current Phase is set to "Existing" and the Phase Created value of all of the elements is the View's Current Phase, Revit considers them New in this View. So, if an element is Created in the current Phase, it is new.

 

 

If any of this doesn't make sense or you'd like further explanation/clarification, don't hesitate to ask!

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
jkarben
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 6 of 8 (314 Views)

Re: Phasing problem

10-15-2013 06:23 AM in reply to: ChuckEdwards

You don't need that Show Existing Phase Filter. Remove it.

 

You don't need that Demolished Phase. Remove it.

 

Phase is a place in time.

 

Phase Filter determines how an element is displayed based on it's relationship (in time) to the view's Phase.

  • Created in the current phase (New column).
  • Created in any previous phase (Existing column).
  • Created in a previous phase and demolished in the current phase (Demolished column).
  • Or created in the current phase and demolished in the current phase (Temporary column).

In each column you choose how the element is displayed.

  • Not Displayed at all.
  • By Category (no override)
  • Overriden by the choices made in the Graphic Override tab.

 

For your view with the Phase set to Existing the "existing" elements are new to that phase so you'll need to choose a Phase Filter that has the New column set to By Category. Nothing is showing up because the Phase Filter chosen has the New Column set to Not Displayed.

 

To document existing work the common practice is to use those bottom two views as noted in Cadastrophe's post above. The top one, the view set to Phase Existing is only used to draw the existing stuff. They will show as "new" in that view. They will be overriden (most likely a thinner line weight) in the bottom two views.

 

Note: I'd also recommend in your Graphic Overrides to have your Demolished and Temporary setting differ so that it is more clear which is applied. The defaults are fairly close.

Distinguished Contributor
ChuckEdwards
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 7 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: Phasing problem

10-16-2013 05:45 AM in reply to: jkarben

jkarben and Cadastrophe, thanks for your replies, it now makes sense.

 

kudos all round :cathappy:

Contributor
cjn01
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 8 of 8 (162 Views)

Re: Phasing problem

01-21-2014 06:01 AM in reply to: ChuckEdwards

I have a question that fits somewhere in this strig- How is the display of tags (section cut, elevation, etc.) controlled for demolition plans and new work plans? It seems if you use a "Demolition Phase", demolition sections (tags) will not display on new work plans and vice-versa. Any thoughts.

 

Thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube