Revit Architecture

Reply
Member
wblaney-cda
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 1 of 5 (149 Views)

Pasting family between projects fails

149 Views, 4 Replies
11-06-2013 11:54 AM

The attached family will not copy/paste between projects. It's about as simple as can be, and I have tried purging, resaving deleting geometry - everything.  The only thing I can do to get it working is start a new family and copy the geometry and reference planes into the new family. That also means that I have to re-create any formulas used in the parameters.

 

One small model like this is no problem to fix, but I've found numerous families in our library that have this problem, and I am not looking forward to re-creating months worth of work.

 

Can you help tell me what is wrong here and how to fix these families? Maybe even find a way to automate the process?

 

At a loss-

Wes

 

Valued Contributor
EnlInt
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Message 2 of 5 (118 Views)

Re: Pasting family between projects fails

11-07-2013 05:21 AM in reply to: wblaney-cda

Wes,

 

I can not seem to reproduce the problem.

-I opened your pedestal family, no problem (automatically converted to Revit 2014)

-I loaded it into one of our projkects, no problem.

-Placed an instance in the project, no problem.

-Within that project copied the family several times, no problem.

-From that project used copy/paste to copy it to a different project, no problem.

 

Maybe I understood you wrong, but I can not find anything wrong with the family at the moment,

Member
wblaney-cda
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 3 of 5 (108 Views)

Re: Pasting family between projects fails

11-07-2013 06:36 AM in reply to: EnlInt
Thanks for looking into it. I can indeed confirm that this "undocumented feature" that limits copy/paste between projects has been removed in v2014. Content that does not work properly in 2012 or 2013 works like a charm in 2014.

Doesn't do much good if I'm supposed to give content in earlier versions to a manufacturer, though. If you have the ability and inclination to test in earlier version, I would be appreciative.

Thanks!
Valued Contributor
EnlInt
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎03-20-2012
Message 4 of 5 (102 Views)

Re: Pasting family between projects fails

11-07-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: wblaney-cda

Wes,

 

Sorry, we do not have older versions of Revit on our computers as there is no requirement for us.

So maybe somebody else can assist you.

Distinguished Contributor
alisder.brown
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-13-2013
Message 5 of 5 (65 Views)

Re: Pasting family between projects fails

11-29-2013 02:37 AM in reply to: wblaney-cda

Have you tried loading & placing the family instead of Copy/Paste?

Thats the way i would always do it, not a huge fan of the copy/pase function for project to project content.

 

Regards

Alisder Brown
BIM consultant & application specialist
Autodesk Trainer

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube