Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bward
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎07-26-2006
Message 1 of 4 (533 Views)

Overlapping Stairs

533 Views, 3 Replies
02-20-2010 11:10 PM
I have a flight of stairs that has (3) intermediate landings before it gets to the next level, see attached. Is there any way to do this without creating 2 seperate stairs? The only reason this looks like it works is becasue I have shifted the stairs an inch in each direction.
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 4 (533 Views)

Re: Overlapping Stairs

02-23-2010 05:56 AM in reply to: bward
This is possible. In the sketch, trace the path for the first flight, do the second flight after a U turn, then make the other U turn, and trace the third flight over the first one. Before doing this, of course, the base and top level settings in the stair properties dialog box have to allow room for all those steps.

Alfredo Medina
info@planta1.com
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Distinguished Contributor
bward
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎07-26-2006
Message 3 of 4 (533 Views)

Re: Overlapping Stairs

02-23-2010 07:44 PM in reply to: bward
Having more than 1 U-turn only works if the third flight (the one after the second U-turn) does not line up directly over the first flight. If it does, I get an error message saying the sketch lines can not overlap. If I click finish, the stringers and railings do not behave properly. I have worked around it for now by creating seperate stairs and making and implace family for the 2, 3 4th ect intermediate landings. Seems like yoiu should be abel to do this.
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 4 (533 Views)

Re: Overlapping Stairs

02-23-2010 08:32 PM in reply to: bward
hmm... I just realized that in the test I made I did not perfectly aligned the third flight over the first one, and probably that's why it worked, but now I see what you mean. I tried to achieve it by changing some multy story and top offset settings combined, but I failed. Interesting problem. I guess for now the third flight would have to be an independent piece. Maybe both pieces could be joined into a group, so at least it can be selected and moved together.

Alfredo Medina
info@planta1.com
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube