Revit Architecture

Reply
Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 1 of 15 (887 Views)

Openings and their inability to be phased

887 Views, 14 Replies
04-12-2012 09:15 AM

I have an issue with openings not being able to be phased.  In renovation projects it is quite common to widen an existing wall opening, for example.  However, openings cannot be phased, they can only be existing and therefore the only workaround is to add the 'new' opening, with its eventual width, in the 'as existing' view set and close it to the 'existing' width with a wall, or walls, that can be then be demolished in the 'new construction' views!  How mad is that?

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 2 of 15 (881 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-12-2012 09:28 AM in reply to: IMCornish

1. Try using a "frameless window"--open a window family, save-as, delete everything unneeded, keep the opening cut.

Load into your project. Use it in whatever Phase you need. Change sizes, etc. Schedule as needed.

 

2. Use Edit Profile of the wall to indicate the opening.

 

3. Use an in-place Void and Cut Geometry to create an "opening".

 

Just a few workarounds.

 

cheers

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 3 of 15 (878 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-12-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: ccollins

Cliff, thanks for the suggested workarounds, I shall have to try them out.  However, they are workarounds and for the BIM tag Revit has, surely it would be much better to have openings being phaseable (if there is such a word) and ultimately a schedule of demolitions would then be accurate.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 15 (825 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-18-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: IMCornish

Hi IMCornish,  

As designed, phases cannot be assigned to openings created by the wall opening tool.  Rather than using the wall opening command, you could place an opening family such as the opening.rfa family found in the windows library or the other suggestions from .  

This has been logged with our Development group as a wishlist item.

The following link is setup for you to submit feature requests, or feedback, directly to our Development group:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

I recommend sending this as a wishlist request through the link as our development group is always interested in your feedback, and coming from an end user, it offers a compelling business case.


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 5 of 15 (809 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-18-2012 01:02 PM in reply to: john.lipp

Thank you John, I have done as you have suggested and appreciate your added workarounds.  My position is perhaps a little over expectant but the virtual BIM world must, I believe, match the real world as closely as is possible if its reports, at all levels, are to be a believable and accurate forecast to be taken forward.

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 6 of 15 (785 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-24-2012 03:33 AM in reply to: IMCornish
Having used the workaround and used door_opening.rfa to create my 'phased' opening, I have run into another issue. How do you connect two rooms as a single space since the door, albeit an opening, divides the space just as the wall did since it is Room-Bounding whilst a wall opening is not. I looked at the creating a door opening that is not Room Bounding but this cannot be done. Some would add 'obviously' here I expect. In summary, I am unable to cut an opening in an existing wall to combine two spaces (Rooms) in a proposed design without having the opening appear on the 'as existing' views and if I use the 'door_opening' workaround, I cannot have the two original spaces combine into one. Furthermore the later also shows the door opening footprint as a white space separating the room colours if you are using a colour scheme on your floor plans. Any other workarounds gratefully received.
Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Valued Contributor
cjgielens
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎06-29-2004
Message 7 of 15 (779 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-24-2012 05:16 AM in reply to: IMCornish

also openings in roofs or floors cannot have a phase.

i have to build the roof or floor again to make a new opening in a different phase.

this was on the wish list..... for how long?

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,813
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 8 of 15 (776 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-24-2012 05:18 AM in reply to: IMCornish

IMCornish wrote:
... Any other workarounds gratefully received.

What if the wall that hosts the opening is made not rooom bounding, so that the two adjacent spaces join?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 9 of 15 (759 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-24-2012 10:03 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thanks Alfredo, will try that and report back. 

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK
Mentor
IMCornish
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 10 of 15 (757 Views)

Re: Openings and their inability to be phased

04-24-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: cjgielens

Sounds like I have picked up this issue late, apologies if it is already on a wish list.  Surprised that it hasn't been included in the 2013 release if this is the case.  You also raise the importance of this thread by expanding the discussion to other openings, thanks.  

Andrew Robertson
Chartered Architect
Robertson Partnership
Truro. UK

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube