Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
Mikeb
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 1 of 7 (1,803 Views)

Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

1803 Views, 6 Replies
04-14-2008 08:36 AM
Is it possible to have multiple leaders with one keynote?
Distinguished Contributor
melarch
Posts: 1,707
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 2 of 7 (1,803 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

04-15-2008 03:59 AM in reply to: Mikeb
Not directly from the Keynote command or tool. The Optio bar only provides for one leader to be displayed. You could create a Detail Line Based family that acted as a leader and apply that family to any object including Keynotes independently. Very useful for placing leaders with in many other conditions where no leader is available.

Mel Persin, AIA
AEC Technology Consultant
Technology to Visualize and Realize Solutions
Modeling the Future/Drafting the Present/Building on the Past
Distinguished Contributor
lhmoman
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 3 of 7 (1,649 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

03-09-2011 11:26 AM in reply to: Mikeb

Can you go into more detail about how this can be done, please?

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 7 (1,638 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

03-09-2011 02:55 PM in reply to: Mikeb

Copy the keynote multiple times, at the same place. Then just drag the arrows to different places.

 

See illustration.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Active Member
narenvangamudi
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 5 of 7 (922 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

06-27-2013 03:39 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

This is ridiculous way of doing it.. Blaming Autodesk.. not you. I am amazed they don't an option even in 2013.

*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,429
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 6 of 7 (893 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

07-01-2013 11:28 AM in reply to: narenvangamudi

narenvangamudi wrote:

This is ridiculous way of doing it.. Blaming Autodesk.. not you. I am amazed they don't an option even in 2013.


I would imagine that the reasoning behind not doing so would be that the "extra" leaders would be pure annotation and could point to objects to which the keynote does not apply.  Even if all were done correctly on first placement, the objects to which the "extra" leaders point could be changed, and the keynote would still indicate the original, now incorrect, note.

David Koch
*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 811
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 7 of 7 (886 Views)

Re: Multiple Leaders with Keynotes

07-01-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: narenvangamudi

Yes and no.  It depends on what type of keynotes you're using.  If you're doing standard or material keynotes, then you're right, it makes no sense.  However, if you're using the manual user keynotes, then you could be mistagging items.

 

If you want a single keynote tag to have multiple leaders, then you'll have to create it as a generic annotation element, and it will be a manual keynote that is not tied back to any kind of smart data.  You will, however, be able to add multiple leaders to it (same way as adding multiple leaders to a text object).

 

So, since there are several different ways of doing keynotes in Revit, having multiple leaders as an option with all types isn't possible.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube