Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bcpratt
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎09-20-2004
Message 1 of 7 (903 Views)

Moving project from Revit 2011 to Revit 2012 verticals?.

903 Views, 6 Replies
05-02-2011 06:41 AM

Has anyone done this yet and if so, what has your experience been?  Would you advise to leave a project in the version it was started in, or to move to the current version to take advantage of new functionality?  I had some hiccups with AutoCAD MEP when moving a project forward from one release to another and am wondering if something similar would happen in Revit world.  Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,362
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 2 of 7 (876 Views)

Re: Moving project from Revit 2011 to Revit 2012 verticals?.

05-03-2011 07:26 AM in reply to: bcpratt

As a best practice from my experience - What ever version you started - finish in.

This prevents several issues....  If you are working with other firms, they may not be able to make the jump to the new version.  So you are no longer in sync and that just does not work.

 This also prevents any possible data loss in the upgrade, I am not saying this will happen - but no one will 100% guarantee that it won't happen. Is it really worth the chance? If you are at the beginning of a project - i would take the chance but if i am beyong midpoint - it will stay where it is.

 

Everyone is different and will approach it differently.

 

LD

 

 


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Contributor
rmccoyhfg
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-26-2011
Message 3 of 7 (850 Views)

Re: Moving project from Revit 2011 to Revit 2012 verticals?.

05-05-2011 09:23 AM in reply to: bcpratt

I would leave your project in 2011. We have upgraded one project as a test and keep running into issue after issue with 2012. All of our consultants have upgraded as well. But as of right now it's not worth the hassle.

*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 810
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 4 of 7 (835 Views)

Re: Moving project from Revit 2011 to Revit 2012 verticals?.

05-05-2011 07:26 PM in reply to: bcpratt

Our policy has been to not upgrade projects that are over 90% complete, or that are within 4 weeks of being issued for construction.  All other projects are upgraded once the new release has been vetted for potential issues (not all issues, obviously, but as many as can be reasonably expected).

 

Caveat: if any consultants are using Revit, and aren't on subscription or will not be upgrading on an equal timetable, then the project stays in the original version.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 5 of 7 (827 Views)

Re: Moving project from Revit 2011 to Revit 2012 verticals?.

05-05-2011 09:23 PM in reply to: rosskirby
my policy is to not touch a new release until update 1 is available.. but now that revit is ten years old and fully mature and all program goals have been met- it's time to consider whether or not you want to continue paying money for bloatware.. not me- and i love RAC 2011..
*Expert Elite*
leothebuilder
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
Message 6 of 7 (814 Views)

Re: Moving project from Revit 2011 to Revit 2012 verticals?.

05-06-2011 07:45 AM in reply to: bcpratt

Reading all of these responses leads me to ask:

What about older projects, what about a project that was created in 2008 and you have upgraded Revit every year.

Now you need to work with this old project again. (e.g. building additions or whatever)

 

*Expert Elite*
LisaDrago
Posts: 1,362
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Message 7 of 7 (806 Views)

Re: Moving project from Revit 2011 to Revit 2012 verticals?.

05-06-2011 08:02 AM in reply to: bcpratt
You would upgrade it to the current version.
I would do it in steps... Anything linked in I would unlink and upgrade each file separately and then re-link them.
You can certainly upgrade any project. It 'should' go smoothly but there can be bumps along the way.

If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube