Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mechanical template in an architectural

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
mpanonid
5879 Views, 4 Replies

Mechanical template in an architectural

Hello everybody!

I am a Mechanical Engineer and recently I received an architectural revit model. I tried to design the MEP drawings but I experienced a series of difficulties. I am used to work in files created from a mechanical template, where the mechanical families are alrady imported in the project and the pipe/ductworks are generated automatically.

The architectural model I have didn't initially have them installed and I couldn't design pipelines and ductworks automatically because the relevant fittings and accessories were missing. I tried to insert them manually but this didn't seem to work. Now I can see the mechanical families in the families section of the project browser but still I have to put the fittings manually and I cannot draw the pipework and ductwork automatically, which is very time inefficient.

Any help or idea would be welcome!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Alfredo_Medina
in reply to: mpanonid

It seems to me that you are doing your mechanical work in the same Revit file that you received from the architect. Instead of that, create a new file using the mechanical template, and link the architect's model origin to origin, and then do your work.

Alfredo Medina _________________________________________________________________ ______
Licensed Architect (Florida) | Freelance Instructor | Autodesk Expert Elite (on Revit) | Profile on Linkedin
Message 3 of 5
mpanonid
in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Thanks alfredo.

I think this is the right way to do it. I will give it a try.