Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linked CAD file visibility problems

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
TiaAI
7378 Views, 7 Replies

Linked CAD file visibility problems

Hi,

I'm quite new to Revit and am having an issue with the visibility of linked CAD files. I've tried searching the forums for someone who's had a similar issue but cant seem to find anything that helps.

I have linked several Autocad plans to my revit floor plans to give some context to the drawings. However a short while after the CAD files are loaded and I've set up the visibility/ graphic overides for the line styles, the content of the CAD file partly disappears?? I am left with just one visible CAD layer which hapens to be the title block frame, so I can see the extents of where the file should be - just nothing else. (I've attached a jpeg to show you what this looks like - the pink box is the title block frame I was refereing to)

Also the extent of the file is huge even though in CAD it is not... I've double checked by using zoom extents in the CAD file and there are definately no lines hiding miles away. A third issue is that in Revit it won't let me select the linked CAD file.

I have tried reloading the files in the Manage Links tab but this doesn't help. The only thing that has worked previously is to remove the files and reload them. Although this only works for a while before the issue starts again and it also mean I have to go through and set up my imported line styles again which is time consuming!!!

Can anyone please help?!

Many Thanks

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Alisder.Brown
in reply to: TiaAI

TiaAL

This is an issue you may find with alot of AutoCAD files.