Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 1 of 7 (838 Views)
Accepted Solution

Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

838 Views, 6 Replies
06-25-2012 02:44 PM

I'm trying to create a simple 8x2 extrusion that will represent an aluminum band on a building elevation. The length varies by instance but needs to be reportable in a schedule (preferably using the "Length" shared parameter name.

 

I've never used reporting parameters before but have made an attempt at it in the attached file. The parameter of Length displays the stretched length in the properties box but won't appear in a schedule. The Instance Length parameter will appear in a schedule but doesn't always show the correct value.

 

I'll note that this family was adapted from one already created by someone else and the Length label cannot be deleted. It's as if the file was at one time a template.  However, I've tried it from scratch,t oo and can't get it to work, sometimes not even being able to get the family to allow stretching the length.

 

There's obviously a basic concept for this that I'm not grasping.  Any help would be appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,816
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 7 (824 Views)

Re: Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

06-26-2012 04:09 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

If you want to schedule the length value of a family in a project, you need to associate that length with a shared parameter (instance, length), in the family. Then, in the project, from the schedule, add the shared parameter to the schedule.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Distinguished Contributor
paul.ashley
Posts: 597
Registered: ‎10-20-2003
Message 3 of 7 (818 Views)

Re: Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

06-26-2012 04:54 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Late last night I found an article that suggested to me that what you offered might be the solution.  I'll give it a try today.  Thanks.

New Member
luxdesigns
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2012
Message 4 of 7 (725 Views)

Re: Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

11-30-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: paul.ashley

Sorry to bump a post from June, but I have a question about the procedure to associate "length" with a shared paramter.

 

Any links to how to do this, or could someone point me in the proper direction?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,207
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 7 (720 Views)

Re: Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

11-30-2012 10:38 AM in reply to: luxdesigns

To associate the Shared Parameter to the Reporting Parameter, you only need to enter the exact name of the Reporting Parameter as the formula for the Shared Parameter. This will create a direct dependency to that value.

 

And bump-away! If the question is directly related to the thread, it's better to add to it than to start a new thread.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
duncan.lithgow
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-13-2012
Message 6 of 7 (285 Views)

Re: Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

05-09-2014 05:26 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Still on the subject of a parameter for length...

 

In the OOTB Generic Line Based Family Template there is a 'Length' parameter. But it's a family parameter and therefore can't be scheduled. But because there is already a parameter called Length I can't add a proper shared parameter with the same name.

 

I could just ban the Generic Line Based Family Template and use another one instead, adding the reference line and shared parameter myself ... but that would be silly. What's the right way to fix this silly issue (especially now that our office has quite a few Lines Based Families from that template).

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,207
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 7 of 7 (280 Views)

Re: Instance Length Family Parameter: Reporting Issue

05-09-2014 06:01 AM in reply to: duncan.lithgow

I would suggest not naming Shared Parameters with such names as "Length" or "Voltage" because Revit already uses a lot of the simple names like these. Name your Shared Parameters differently enough to reflect the difference, and then in the Schedule, you can rename the Field to anything you wish. As an example, ALL of the Shared Parameters that I create and include in my Families and Projects are prefixed with a "₪" symbol, for example "₪ Length" or "₪ Voltage". This acts as a clear designator to all that this is a Shared Parameter. This symbol does not appear anywhere in the finished project, as it is removed from the Field names in Schedules.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.